Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Big hit at a dinner I took it to. I've made it twice now, only calico beans I will make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Amazing and hearty. I didn't have any kidney beans so I substituted black beans. I did drain the kidney beans and black beans first but not the baked beans. I also added some boneless pork ribs. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I will decrease the amount of brown sugar next time, but otherwise I liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This was a disappointment. My husband's first comment was -"this is very sweet." It was good but too too sweet between the brown sugar and sauce with the baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim AndJoelle Haseley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This is so delicious! We changed it up a bit. We used tomato paste instead of ketchup and left out the brown sugar and bacon. We figured this would save us some un-needed calories plus we don't like overly sweet beans. We also added about 1 tsp chopped rosemary! So good! There was enough sweetness from the can of pork and beans. I can't imagine how sweet these would be with all that brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Miller
Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Made it exactly as is for a family get together everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Dee Dee this was a great dish. I am sorry that I didn't follow your recipe exactly because I listened to others and added less brown sugar, when it definitely needed what you recommended. However my husband and I and my grandchildren really loved it. I will definitely make it again for my barbecue this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
this is a wonderful quick side dish OR main meal too. I have made it as written and is a 5 star. I usually leave out the vinegar (there is enough in the ketchup and mustard) and use prepared mustard instead of dry..which I don't always have on hand. I sometimes add green and red pepper too. Lots you can do with this. sometimes black beans or pinto beans....what ever I have on hand! Don't always bake it either. GREAT hot OR cold!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CECK317

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I made this, however I strained the beans and added about half cup of water and half cup of Jack Daniels. YUMMY! I was told never ever to forget this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Can never make enough! The only thing I changed was to use the whole pound of bacon (I know) and I let that cook by itself a bit first, then added chopped onion and cooked both until bacon crisped up a little. Then I added the beef and cooked until brown, and only then did I drain off the extra fat. Obviously not the healthiest, but certainly the tastiest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States