Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I've made this recipe for years and I do nothing but brown the ground beef & onions then dump that and all the rest of the ingredients in to the crockpot and let it go on low overnight or ALL day. I don't precook the bacon and I don't even drain the beans! I double the recipe and use 1 can black beans, 1 can white beans, and 2 cans kidney beans. Couldn't be easier or tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
wow, this was a great dinner. the bacon was a an excellent idea to add. the only thing i changed was adding chick peas instead of butter beans (don't know what they are) & some chopped green peppers,cellery & mushrooms. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I received almost the exact same recipe from my Mom years ago, the only difference is that in place of white vinegar her recipe calls for 2 T molasses. I have modified it over the years and in place of bacon I use turkey bacon and in place of ground beef I use ground turkey breast. I also changed out the butter beans and use white cannelini beans, reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and omit the onions and they taste great this way, too. It really is an easy recipe that you can make adjustments to according to your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I've been making variations of this recipe for many years. You can do it on the stove top in a heavy stock pot...or slow cooker. Great to use kielbasa, chorizo or ground turkey. Use Real Bacon bits for less fat..and be sure to add Hungarian Paprika and then some red pepper flakes if you like it a little spicy. Best made the day before serving to really blend the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Used BBQ sauce instead of ketchup and topped with shredded cheese and scallion on individual servings. Kids were in heaven. Great BBQ potluck dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I have making this casserole (or one very similar) for many years, and never tire of it! YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight & we loved it! I left out the butter beans & used pork n beans instead of baked beans. And a little less brown sugar as my hubby doesn't like food that's very sweet, unless it's dessert...LOL. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I've eaten variations of this dish countless times at barbeques, etc., but I'd never made it before. I had a bunch of people expected for a very informal, quick dinner and this seemed a good entree. I doubled the recipe and put in a full pound of bacon, cooked crisp and drained. I used kidney beans, great northern beans and canned baked beans. Lean ground beef. The vinegar and dry mustard were indispensable, in my opinion: they provide the tang. I added some chopped garlic to the chopped onions; garlic can play a wonderful starring role, but it also does amazing things in a supporting role. Didn't put much in. Also added a little ground cloves, not enough to recognize, just enough to add the deep complexity cloves has. I used white sugar and molasses as I was out of brown sugar, but only about 1/3 C. for the whole double batch. If I added 1 1/2 C. of sugar to this, I could have just sliced it, added a dollop of whipped cream and served it for dessert. Don't understand the taste for overwhelming sweetness in main dishes. Anyway, it was fantastic: meaty, thick, tangy and DELICIOUS! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I've made this main dish for years. It makes an excellent "dish to pass" but be prepared because everyone will ask for the recipe. You can truly use any beans you like as long as you use some pork and beans. My original recipe came from my mother many, many years ago and used all pork and beans. I like to bake up a batch of Boston Brown Bread to serve on the side. Also works well in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICHKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Great recipe! There are several variations out there. It is a hearty meal all by itself and always goes over well with guys.. I use ground turkey, omit the ketchup, vinegar and sugar and add lots of spicy brown mustard and garlic to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States