Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Just okay for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I know everyone hates it when you change the recipe however since I need to watch I am always looking for how I can replicate the delicious recipe but with healthier options substituted. So, for those who are in my boat: This recipe is GREAT and hard to mess up. I substituted ground turkey, turkey bacon, vegetarian baked beans, reduced sugar ketchup, and honestly did not think it needed the brown sugar. Depending on your canned baked beans, you might want a little sweetness but if so add it T by T at the end .... you don't need much. Also, since veggies are a dieters' best friend I added way more frozen baby limas, corn, and would have added green pepper too if I had some. Also, more onions ( I always use shallots) and a little garlic paste. So good I can hardly believe it's not decadent. Even with the substitutions, this recipe still wows a regular crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe! Very easy & simple to make plus filling. My husband loved this & that is saying something because he isn't fond of my NEW recipes! It's a keeper & will be made again for a get together or pot luck! Thanks Dee Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
It was good. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and next time I would only use 1/4 cup. With the can of baked beans it was already pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I worked for 8 orthopaedic doctors and took this, in a slow cooker after letting it do it's thing on a low setting overnight, into work for a potluck luncheon. I only had pinto beans on hand so used that in place of kidney beans, added a can of Bush's baked beans with pork, reduced the brown sugar to 1/4 cup and these were the only changes I made. After the luncheon I had 18 requests for the recipe, 5 were from the doctors, 4 from RN's; big success? I'll say!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Needs a sweet corn bread topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This is really sweet. Oh my gosh; crazy sweet. I didn't use the bacon, but I can't imagine it mattering that much; even if it were slightly smokier, it would still be crazy sweet. I even decreased the brown sugar by a third. Not bad - we did eat it - but I don't think it'll make a repeat appearance. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
this is a great dish. like another review i used black beans, pinto beans and baked beans. and mixed in some onion powder, garlic powder and chili powder in with the ketchup and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
We LOVED this recipe. Followed the recipe almost to the T...I did cook the bacon by itself, and sauteed the onion with 1/2 of a chopped red pepper. I would consider this a main dish. Husband said to put it on the list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States