Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This was pretty good, although for personal preference I think I'd cut back on the sugar to 1/2 cup next time. I did not think there was enough volume to warrant a 9x13 dish, so I used a significantly smaller baking dish. I felt this could have used a little spice of some sort to offset the sweetness of the dish. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Dee Dee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Johnsonville recently challenged some of us to pick a favorite recipe and do a make-over utilizing one of their products. Although I have a family Calico Beans recipe I’ve been making for many years, I selected this one based not only on the number of reviews, but also the 4-1/2 star rating. No offense to the recipe author, but here’s how I changed her recipe. First, I substituted half of the ground beef with Johnsonville Mild Italian Ground Sausage which worked well. I cut the brown sugar back to 1/2 cup and next time would cut it back to 1/4 cup. We’re not big “sweet” eaters, so this is totally personal preference. I drained all cans of beans but reserved the liquid, and after combining everything, added some of the reserved liquid back to the pan, but not all. Finally, I used garlic salt instead of regular salt and baked for about 45 minutes. My family recipe calls for regular yellow mustard, but I will say that I liked the dry mustard MUCH better. Dee Dee, I’m sure your recipe is excellent because 173 people have tried it and given it high reviews. But this version turned out really well, too. Either way, I still LOVE Calico Beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made this dish vegetarian by using Soyrizo only. Also sprinkle some Parmesan cheese on top, and it was really delicious! Baked whole wheat tortilla and put the mixture and wrap it as you eat it, with sauteed spinach on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayoharper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I thought this was sensational! It's very hardy and very easy to make. It's like a chili, without the spicy kick of chili sauce. Or maybe if you were to take the usual baked bean recipe and kick it up a notch, this is what you'd get. I did fry the bacon separate to get it crispy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This turned out to be a nice surprise, very tasty. I drained the kidney beans and lima beans and used a can of pork and beans, then followed recipe exactly. Husband loved it and suggested next time I throw in a sliced hot dog with the hamburger. Only change I would make is the next time I will use real bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Max, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Owendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I have tried many different bean recipes and thought I'd give this one a try because my most favorite bean recipe has vinegar in it. I liked this recipe but am going to give it a four only because I have other favorite ones. Some interesting changes I made was to use Italian sausage because I didn't have any hamburger. I loved what it added to the dish. I also only had two slices of bacon on hand. I would do this again because it is quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
My husband and son really, really liked this - especially because it had bacon in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
The vinegar is really what I think makes this recipe just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This was fantastic, very hearty! My 3 year old liked it too. I did cut the brown sugar by half. It was still a little sweet to me to be a main dish, I'd probably cut the sugar a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This was a good recipe, but we'll probably half the sugar amount next time. It was a little too sweet, but maybe because of the ketchup were using?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States