Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I thought this was sensational! It's very hardy and very easy to make. It's like a chili, without the spicy kick of chili sauce. Or maybe if you were to take the usual baked bean recipe and kick it up a notch, this is what you'd get. I did fry the bacon separate to get it crispy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This turned out to be a nice surprise, very tasty. I drained the kidney beans and lima beans and used a can of pork and beans, then followed recipe exactly. Husband loved it and suggested next time I throw in a sliced hot dog with the hamburger. Only change I would make is the next time I will use real bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Max, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Owendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I have tried many different bean recipes and thought I'd give this one a try because my most favorite bean recipe has vinegar in it. I liked this recipe but am going to give it a four only because I have other favorite ones. Some interesting changes I made was to use Italian sausage because I didn't have any hamburger. I loved what it added to the dish. I also only had two slices of bacon on hand. I would do this again because it is quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
My husband and son really, really liked this - especially because it had bacon in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
The vinegar is really what I think makes this recipe just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This was fantastic, very hearty! My 3 year old liked it too. I did cut the brown sugar by half. It was still a little sweet to me to be a main dish, I'd probably cut the sugar a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This was a good recipe, but we'll probably half the sugar amount next time. It was a little too sweet, but maybe because of the ketchup were using?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I forgot the mustard, but it was still delicious. I used beans I had on hand, baked beans, kidney beans, and Great Northern beans instead of butter beans. Very delicious recipe, my kids all gobbled it up so there were no leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Delicious!! I did reduce the brown sugar to 1/2 a cup and it still was just a bit sweet for us. Either way, we both enjoyed it very much with cornbread. I made this as a meal, but it would be great as a side for a potluck. This will be a regular in our house! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3doxiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was really good with sweet cornbread. My family enjoyed, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States