Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
A tweak that I use in this is to use smoked sausage cut in 1/4 inch rounds instead of the ground beef. I also use 4 cans of beans-usually add black beans to what recipe calls for and drain and rinse all but the baked beans-Bush's of course! Reduce the brown sugar but sometimes add a little molasses, use more onion and a little green or red or both adds to the flavor levels. Great recipe-for us it's a meal and add some corn muffins-perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Gima

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Karlstad, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Overton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Made this dish many times without any of the meat. People love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This is a good recipe but to me it's better with some ground sausage in it too. I have made this for years and years. I use equal amount of bacon, lean ground beef and lean sausage. I don't use vinegar and after trying it, I'll be taking it out. It was too sweet so I'll cut way back on the sugar and I like to add some molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This is one dish my husband will gladly make me because it is something he grew up eating. It would definitely categorize this as delicious, comfort food...we make it at least a few times each winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewsar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
everyone loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina lafreniere

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Very delicous dish! I was skeptical but it really is fantastic. A few modifications- i added chopped green pepper and garlie to the meat mixture and only used a 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Really a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Very simple and of course tasty; drunk or not. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
We ate it as a main dish with fresh bread and it was excellent. Perfect for a winter evening!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanoush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I made this just as written, except that I used extra onion, and it turned out great--very flavorful. I also cooked it on the stovetop instead of in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
these beans were absolutley delicious!!! we've made them three times already! they are flavorful, easy , and are always eaten up super fast! the only thing i would suggest is to bake the beans for the half the time, covered, and the other half take the cover off and let some of the liquid drain off. if u leave the cover off the whole time they will be to thick, and if it is on the whole time there will be to much liquid. another suggestion, this casserole works great with any kind of bean, so don't bother with specifics, just use what's on hand. hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States