Calico Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This is a good recipe, but much better if you substitute a pound of good bulk sausage (Jimmy Dean Country Mild is our favorite) instead of the ground beef. Much more umpf! We also add a cup of frozen corn. Then add a good hearty dash of Hot Sauce. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This recipe has been in our family for decades (my aunt gave it to my mom probably 30+ years ago) and it is always a crowd pleaser at potlucks and BBQs. I usually substitute canned lima beans instead of butter beans, and sometimes cook a gourmet bean blend with a variety of beans, peas and lentils, instead of the canned beans, and that is great too. I don't eat beef now, so I use ground turkey instead of beef, and cut back a little on the brown sugar, but any which way you make this dish, it turns out wonderful and people want the recipe. Can't go wrong....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Looks really good but was reluctant to consider trying because I don't eat/use ketchup and don't like beans with pork. After reading all the reviews I am looking forward to making my own small changes and enjoying this as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I love this! Made it many times for picnics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lois Hanson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I have been using this recipe for years, my family loves it, we substitute french style green beans (drain and rinse) for butter beans and barbecue sauce for ketchup, makes it a little more spicy. It is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I have been using this recipe for years. When I ask, "what can I bring" this is always the request. The only think I do differently is I usually use half pound of bacon and I use slice green beans rather than butter beans. The green beans are a really nice contrast in color and I think much tastier and less dry than butter beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Griedl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omro, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I've made this recipie for at least 12 years. My sister in law gave me thier family recipie. This is so easy and hearty that this and a break of french or sour dough roll, or your favorite bread choice. I personally add 1 tablespoon of the vinegar, 1 cup of crumbled bacon, 4oz is not enough and 1 can of Garbanzo beans. So I would say add ingredints to taste and Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HYSOL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
A tweak that I use in this is to use smoked sausage cut in 1/4 inch rounds instead of the ground beef. I also use 4 cans of beans-usually add black beans to what recipe calls for and drain and rinse all but the baked beans-Bush's of course! Reduce the brown sugar but sometimes add a little molasses, use more onion and a little green or red or both adds to the flavor levels. Great recipe-for us it's a meal and add some corn muffins-perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Karlstad, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Overton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Made this dish many times without any of the meat. People love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This is a good recipe but to me it's better with some ground sausage in it too. I have made this for years and years. I use equal amount of bacon, lean ground beef and lean sausage. I don't use vinegar and after trying it, I'll be taking it out. It was too sweet so I'll cut way back on the sugar and I like to add some molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Calico Bean Casserole

See how to make a delicious bean and beef side dish.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States