Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was great!! I added cumin, as another reviewer suggested, as well as a couple cloves of garlic, minced. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Jordan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I loved this! I made it for my roommates and it filled them up (which is rare)! Its very hearty!!! Also for you non-cabbage lovers out there we skipped that part and substituted an extra potato with an extra cup of broth. Also Monterrey Jack is a great topper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collegecooker27

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe is absolutely delicious! It was so easy and came out just like my grandma used to make in El Paso. I love it with a side of mexican rice, corn tortillas and lots of lime. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I had the bone section from a rib roast and decided to try this recipe, based on the positive previous responses. I simmered the bones/residual meat in water for 6 hours. I then pulled the meat from the bones and fat and added just the meat back to the Dutch Oven. I didn't add the oil nor the salt and pepper but followed the recipe for the most part after that. I couldn't find pickled jalapenos so I used a fresh jalapeno and a fresh serrano. I also used frozen corn. AMAZING!! Mine was a bit spicy I found a hot hot serrano) but so wonderful. My hubby also said amazing!! I saved some for my kids before adding the hot chilis and they love it as well. This makes A LOT. I am actually glad there are so many leftovers - THANKS for the delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
So amazingly delicious ! Used cherry tomatoes in place of the canned tomatoes because I had them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
WOW! Great soup. I made a double batch for our Cooking club dinner. It was a Mexican theme dinner and had way over 50 people show up. I stayed as close as possible to the recipe but had to make a few changes. I used 20oz of frozen corn instead of cobs. I thought with the small sample bowls the corn on the cob would have been a little unmanageable and used zucchini instead of the chayotes. getting hungry again writing this! I then added about 6 stocks of celery, 3 very large Russet potatoes, half a dozen medium carrots and then added the cabbage. SPICES..... I didn't get too carried away but when I tasted the soup towards the end I felt it just needed something more. I went light on the salt from the beginning just so I could sneak up on it rather than finding out it was too salty. I added about 5 beef bullion cubes (I already had 6 cups of beef broth in the pot) about 2tsps. Chile powder, maybe 1tsps, of cayenne pepper, and about 2 Tbsp. black pepper. It STILL need something. I ended up putting in a tsp of paprika and THAT did it! I should have listened to the one reviewer that said this recipe would fill 8 Aztec warriors. My "doubled" recipe almost filled up my 16qt soup pot!! With over 25 dishes and pupus (Hawaiian for appetizers) there was just too much food! So I ended up bringing almost 2 gallons of soup! Good thing the soup was good and I really love leftovers. I'm sure it will freeze well. I paired this up with some wonderful honey cornbread from this site and got a l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was a greatttt recipe!! It is perfect just the way it is. I did add 2 cloves of garlic to the pot and some cumin but that is the only thing I did different. I made spanish rice and warmed up some tortillas on the burner and my family ate this soup up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Very, very athentic, but I agree, you must add cumin and a little garlic!!! Our family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
My family and I absolutely loved this dish! we just used kernel corn to make it easier to eat while hot. we also used a couple more chayotes cause we love squash. as is said in hawaii 'broke da mouth'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States