Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by datgrlsylvia
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
this recipe was so awesome, i just added more water/broth, alot more potatos and threw in some chopped celery and about a tbsp of cummin. IT WAS DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I seasoned a little more to taste but this is a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was delicious! I live in a border town and get to eat authentic mexican food and this recipe is as good as I have had. I didn't have chayotes and Cumin is a must in mexican dishes, so I added 2 tsp. when I added the onion. If you have spanish rice on hand, add it to your bowl when serving. I'm so glad to have a Caldo recipe! It's a keeper. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This recipe is excellent, very authentic! Authentic Caldo de Res is not supposed to be spicy. I used 3 lbs. of beef shank and boiled it for about 4 hours until it fell off the bones. Then I scooped out the bones and trimmed most of the fat. I sauted 2 cloves of chopped garlic with the onion and added about 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. I used small ears of frozen corn and skipped the chayote and used 3 potatoes. Next time I think I will throw in a zucchini. I served this with warm flour tortillas, some Mexican rice and homemade chile'. My husband LOVED it! Thanks so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is sooooooo good! The recipe says to serve the bones in your bowl but I pulled those out and the round fat and gristle that were attached to the bone. They just were not look appetizing and I was already throwing a new dish to my family. I cooked pretty much as the recipes said with only the addition of some cumin (as other reviewers suggested) and a can of the HOT rotel. That one can gave the whole soup a nice kick. Plus, I probably added to the cooking time quit a bit just making sure my meat and then the veggies were tender. I used all the toppings suggested, I didn't need the jalepeno though because of the rotel. Was really surprised at how good the squeeze of lime complimented the dish. This is an excellent dish, not typical, very surprising wonderful flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Excellent! We all loved it, great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I wish I could back up the other reviews, but this came out completely bland. I used no water and all beef broth, but after adding bouillon cubes, salt, cayenne, garlic, cumin, etc., nothing could make this a yummy soup. I did cook this in a crockpot, but I still browned the meat and onions first, which should have helped boost the taste. After two days of sitting (that usually increases flavor) it was still bland. If you like strong flavors, this may not be for you. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was great!! I added cumin, as another reviewer suggested, as well as a couple cloves of garlic, minced. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Jordan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I loved this! I made it for my roommates and it filled them up (which is rare)! Its very hearty!!! Also for you non-cabbage lovers out there we skipped that part and substituted an extra potato with an extra cup of broth. Also Monterrey Jack is a great topper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collegecooker27

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe is absolutely delicious! It was so easy and came out just like my grandma used to make in El Paso. I love it with a side of mexican rice, corn tortillas and lots of lime. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States