Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Wonderful on a cold winters night! I did as suggested and cooked the meat for 2-3 hours. Meat fell off bones! I like it a little spicier so I used a can of Rotel instead of plain tomatoes. Worked wonderful. Had leftovers for almost a week! Will def make again...probably next weekend! :>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I really like this soup - it is easy, I really didn't change anything except add some cumin, and I pulled the fat off the bones before I cooked them. What makes it good is the fresh ingredients added at the last. I left the corn on the cob and cut it into thirds like it said, it's like a little extra treat when you're through eating the soup. It is mild flavored - not spicy. The only thing I didn't add was the radishes, only because I forgot to buy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I used two packets of sazon and chicken instead of beef. I also only used a 1/4 head of cabbage and frozen corn instead of corn on the cob. It was delicious, but it does make a lot! I had leftovers after serving to 6 people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Added: Lime Corn Tortilla Chips and Hot sause to give it a little kick. It was delicious. Made enough to take to lunch for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
easy to make and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This recipe is very much like what I grew up -- really yummy with one necessary change: to HAVE really tender meat (edible, actually) you have to let the meat simmer for 3 - 4 hours. If you made this soup and enjoyed it when barely cooked meat, then you'll love it them its falling off the bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was good, but a bit bland before adding in salt, cumin and a few other spices. The meat turned out super tender and tasty, but the broth was really disappointing. I used frozen cut corn on the cobbs and didn't like that either. Too messy. Maybe next time I'll use just regular kernals instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I have been making caldo since I can remember, but never like this.... the beef broth adds an excellent flavor to it.... I changed it a little I used beef chuck boneless and a bag of frozen corn I followed the rest of the recipe it is soo good my family loves mexican food and this was a true hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
SO GOOD. It is a must to use cumin, but only 1/4 of a teaspoon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Excellent recipe, but next time I think I would add a little more meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States