Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Photo by Gracie-lynn
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was just like mom used to make! I added a can of tomatoe sauce, and zuccini squash instead of the chayote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Delicious! I use beef chuck cut into big chunks. I also make my own salsa to spoon into the soup. Serve with hot flour tortillas. Tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Wonderful on a cold winters night! I did as suggested and cooked the meat for 2-3 hours. Meat fell off bones! I like it a little spicier so I used a can of Rotel instead of plain tomatoes. Worked wonderful. Had leftovers for almost a week! Will def make again...probably next weekend! :>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I really like this soup - it is easy, I really didn't change anything except add some cumin, and I pulled the fat off the bones before I cooked them. What makes it good is the fresh ingredients added at the last. I left the corn on the cob and cut it into thirds like it said, it's like a little extra treat when you're through eating the soup. It is mild flavored - not spicy. The only thing I didn't add was the radishes, only because I forgot to buy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I used two packets of sazon and chicken instead of beef. I also only used a 1/4 head of cabbage and frozen corn instead of corn on the cob. It was delicious, but it does make a lot! I had leftovers after serving to 6 people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Added: Lime Corn Tortilla Chips and Hot sause to give it a little kick. It was delicious. Made enough to take to lunch for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
easy to make and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This recipe is very much like what I grew up -- really yummy with one necessary change: to HAVE really tender meat (edible, actually) you have to let the meat simmer for 3 - 4 hours. If you made this soup and enjoyed it when barely cooked meat, then you'll love it them its falling off the bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was good, but a bit bland before adding in salt, cumin and a few other spices. The meat turned out super tender and tasty, but the broth was really disappointing. I used frozen cut corn on the cobbs and didn't like that either. Too messy. Maybe next time I'll use just regular kernals instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States