Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
My husband is mexican and he thought this tasted just like his mom's (big compliment)! This is a definite saver. This type of soup is really good with chicken and fish also (just change the stock that is used).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca-l

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is an awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Awesome!!! Added some ground comino and garlic powder and left out the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I LOVE THIS DISH. I ADD GARLIC AND COMINO TO MINE. I ALSO ADD KNOR CONSOMATE FOR A GREATER TASTE. I ALSO ADD ZUCHINI SQUASH TO MINE AT THE END. I MAKE A PAN OF MEXICAN RICE FOR A MORE AUTHENTIC TASTE. ALSO, DONT FORGET THE CORN TORTILLAS AND THE HOMEMADE MEXICAN SALSA. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOSO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Was easy to do and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by URSIFORM
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Great recipe, I live in Chicago where we have an abundance of great Mexican restaurants, and my pals all think this is the best they've ever had! I used the beef shank bone, but also added 1lb of finely chopped beef. When I added the stock, I also threw in two cloves of slightly crushed garlic. Instead of using just cold water, I added 2 additional cans of stock, 3 cups water, and two packets of tomato & cilantro Sayzon. I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by URSIFORM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Taste just lkie my Favorite resturants version !!!! wonderful on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojito Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipe is very delicious and authentic. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILVLFE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I made this for my Spanish class in high school. My teacher liked it so much she asked for the recipe. My dad gave it a 10 and he's tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Growing up in a large Mexican family in Texas, this was the "Sunday" soup of my childhood. My grandmother made this every Sunday for the family. We ate it with warm corn tortillas, sliced avacados and fresh salsa. None of us were fond of cilantro or chayote, so they were never in our caldo pot. Thanks for sharing the recipe...it brings back some wonderful memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States