Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I agree with the other reviewers who said the recipe needs garlic and cumin. It is just a basic vegetable soup without those flavor notes. We also added oregano to give the soup more of a Mexican flavor. It is a delicious soup but gets four stars becase it lacks "Mexican" seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
It is best to have a soup base for this soup, as it gives the soup more flavor. Please note, Caldo de Res Actually translates to "beef soup." This soup is a staple through All of latin america.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This is better than what I get at the restaurant. Only thing I did different was I added 2 tsp of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was more flavorful than I expected. We used stew meat (we are lazy cooks), and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was my first try at Caldo de Res... I was nervous making it. Hoping it would taste as traditional as my friends family make it. it was perfect! i did a little tweaking to suit my family's taste and it was awesome! thank you so much for this!!! now i don't have to wait until a friend brings it along or buy it at the local Mexican Market! thanks a bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. I didn`t add tomatoes altogether with meat, but later (~30 min. after meat simmering). I didn`t find chayotes, so omitted them. Very good soup, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I love this soup ! It tastes like the 'Cadillo soup' from my favorite Tex Mex restaurant. So flavorful and delicious ! I topped the soup with crumbled tortilla chips, and my boys loved it ! I didn't use Chayote. Instead I substituted with zucchinis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I've made clado before and always so bland but i tried it this was and wow was great thanks my family loved it;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Covian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was wonderful, but I did substitute a few things since I didn't have evrything on hand. I know I chopped my veggies into smaller pieces than the recipe called for. I used leftover roast that I had in the fridge and I used all beef broth instead of water. I really think what makes this outstanding is the fresh lime juice, cilantro and jalapeno peppers which I stirred in just b4 serving. Without these ingredients, it wouldn't be worth making. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I love this soup, my mom has been making it for years and looking at the ingredients in this recipe, it's very similar. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States