Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Sometimes I don't have time to brown the meat and the soup still tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
My husband asked me to make a soup since we were having some cold days...well I followed this recipe and it came out beyond good. My husband said I nailed it the first time ?? and that it was beyond restaurant quality ?? I ? it myself ... I'm proud of myself really, it was amazingly good ?? I added squash, celery and boneless meat...perfect! Thank you for the tips and tricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I normally make my own, but due to foot injury my boyfriend had to make Caldo. He found this recipe and I was so impressed. The only reason I knew he looked it up was because he left it on the computer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beautytoons
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I love cocido (caldo de res) and have been searching for a good recipe for years! I'm African American but dated a Mexican man whose mother made this all the time and I must say this is as good as hers. I did use 3 different types of meat (1 pound each) of beef shank, short ribs and chuck. I browned the meat and once I added the onion, tomatoes and broth, I let it all simmer for 2 hours so that the meat was undeniably tender. Otherwise, every thing else was followed precisely. I will make this again and again!! Thanks for an easy to follow recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Amazing! Gracias
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I agree with CK about a better meat choice as has been our family's tradition.. Shank and oxtails may impart flavor to the broth, but neither tastes as delicious as when with meaty beef short ribs...a bit pricier, but well worth it. The broth is richer in flavor as well. One other suggestion, add chunks of your favorite squash at the final ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I thought the recipe could've used some ground Cumin-this adds more of a Mexican taste- I seasoned to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda Gramza

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
So good! I can't wait until colder weather now. I did add the chayote squash but left out the pickled jalapeños and onions for garnish. Next time I will omit or chop up the radishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Been a while since I made this soup so came here to have my mind refreshed. This is very close to how I make it, except I use stewed canned tomatoes and a beef bouillon cube instead of the beef broth. I also like to blend a potato in water and add it for thickness. This is a very good recipe, some don't have the step of frying up the meat which makes a huge differnce. Excellent recipe, yields a great flavor soup that the whole family can appreciate. Don't understand the reviews complaining about all that is involved, I guess I am just used to cooking because the steps take me about 20 mins, and once it is simmering there is plenty of time to clean up or write reviews before having to add the veggies. Oh I add cumin sometimes and serve it up with tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pho54
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I absolutely adore this soup...it's so delicious...it's incredible how flavorful it is....in regards to the recipe, I cheated and used stew meat beef instead...to compensate for the flavor loss (from not using the meat with bone) I added a beef bullion cube....came out awesome...thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States