Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I really like this soup - it is easy, I really didn't change anything except add some cumin, and I pulled the fat off the bones before I cooked them. What makes it good is the fresh ingredients added at the last. I left the corn on the cob and cut it into thirds like it said, it's like a little extra treat when you're through eating the soup. It is mild flavored - not spicy. The only thing I didn't add was the radishes, only because I forgot to buy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I used two packets of sazon and chicken instead of beef. I also only used a 1/4 head of cabbage and frozen corn instead of corn on the cob. It was delicious, but it does make a lot! I had leftovers after serving to 6 people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Added: Lime Corn Tortilla Chips and Hot sause to give it a little kick. It was delicious. Made enough to take to lunch for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
easy to make and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This recipe is very much like what I grew up -- really yummy with one necessary change: to HAVE really tender meat (edible, actually) you have to let the meat simmer for 3 - 4 hours. If you made this soup and enjoyed it when barely cooked meat, then you'll love it them its falling off the bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was good, but a bit bland before adding in salt, cumin and a few other spices. The meat turned out super tender and tasty, but the broth was really disappointing. I used frozen cut corn on the cobbs and didn't like that either. Too messy. Maybe next time I'll use just regular kernals instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I have been making caldo since I can remember, but never like this.... the beef broth adds an excellent flavor to it.... I changed it a little I used beef chuck boneless and a bag of frozen corn I followed the rest of the recipe it is soo good my family loves mexican food and this was a true hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
SO GOOD. It is a must to use cumin, but only 1/4 of a teaspoon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Excellent recipe, but next time I think I would add a little more meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this as written and it was delicious. In the future, because I will make this again, I will use a bag of frozen corn instead of on the cob. I will use 1/2 the cabbage and cut it and the zucchini into smaller pieces. I will double the cilantro added to the soup, add additional stew meat, and 2 packets sazon. Wow, I know it seems like I am changing alot but really these changes will not alter the flvor of this delicious soup. It will make it less messy to eat and my son likes extra meat. Thank you for sharing a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States