Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was wonderful, but I did substitute a few things since I didn't have evrything on hand. I know I chopped my veggies into smaller pieces than the recipe called for. I used leftover roast that I had in the fridge and I used all beef broth instead of water. I really think what makes this outstanding is the fresh lime juice, cilantro and jalapeno peppers which I stirred in just b4 serving. Without these ingredients, it wouldn't be worth making. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I love this soup, my mom has been making it for years and looking at the ingredients in this recipe, it's very similar. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is a great recipe because you don't need to change much. I used 1 lb of beef shanks (on the bone) and 1 lb of lean stew meat. Since I used a pressure cooker, I adjusted the recipe to 4 cups of beef broth. Basically, I followed other pressure cooker stew recipes by dredging the meat in seasoned flower, then browning in batches. Next, I sauted the onions and garlic. After the onions were browned, I added the diced tomatoes and beef broth. Cooked it for 15 minutes after it pressured, then added the veggies and cooked for another 10 minutes. It was thicker than most people may like it, so a few cups of water could have been added as well. I personally like thicker soups, so loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeePatience

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was excellent and was well worth the three or so hours it took to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Too good for words!! Use a small head of cabbage tho. Otherwise, make exactly as is. Delicioso!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Vasquez
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Very good! I followed the recipe but just eye out the vegetables and still came out really good and hubby enjoyed it. Reminded me of my moms and coming from a Mexican this soup is the best and can't get enough of it! made it already 3 times!!!! love love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Vasquez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Dupont, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My husband is from Mexico and he said this is exactly like the food he ate when growing up. I'm from the US and this soup is freak'n good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Ugly Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I made this last night and my family loved it. Excellent recipe. Probably the best soup I've ever made. I didn't use the beef bone, I used boneless flanken rib meat and cut it into 1/2 inch strips and it came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
My wife is from El Salvador and 2 years ago her aunt made this soup, so about 6 months later I decided I was going to make this soup for the entire family. This recipe is now a staple in our home and I make it on a regular basis. This truly is a very user friendly recipe and delivers a wonderful soup that is even better the next day! Thanks, John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Mom made this for us growing up. I've revised using short ribs and any cut of roast on sale. Just ask the butcher to cut into stew meat. I also add celery stalks and bay leaf. Cumin is also necessary. I used wedges of cabbage at the end and zucchini squash and it turns into a robust vegetable beef soup. Don't forget the corn on the cob, I keep some in the freezer. One more tip, we sometimes serve on top of a scoop of white rice if we don't have enough soup. Deelicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States