Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Mom made this for us growing up. I've revised using short ribs and any cut of roast on sale. Just ask the butcher to cut into stew meat. I also add celery stalks and bay leaf. Cumin is also necessary. I used wedges of cabbage at the end and zucchini squash and it turns into a robust vegetable beef soup. Don't forget the corn on the cob, I keep some in the freezer. One more tip, we sometimes serve on top of a scoop of white rice if we don't have enough soup. Deelicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was one of my favorite soups growing up. For beef, I use beef short ribs and only use shanks if the short ribs don't have enough meat on them. It gives it a better flavor,but you do need to skim the fat off the soup after it cooks(it's also easily removed after the soup has been placed in the fridge). You need to brown the meat well for flavor before adding any liquid. This is a good Caldo de Res recipe and everyone who loves beef soup should try this at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I make this in the crockpot and add 3-4 tbsp of butter to the pot. I serve it with fresh-squeezed lime and lemon. It is just like my favorites "mom-n-pop" Mexican restaurant here in Texas. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennwhitehead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was a GREAT SOUP!!! My husband likes it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timidlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Currituck, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
"Weston Price style:" use beef bone broth made separately; use tallow for frying onions; add up to four chopped roasted (and peeled) poblano peppers at the very end; garnish well with lime juice at the end. If you strip half the corn kernels from cobs and cut the rest of the cobs into 1" wide wheels, the soup thickens up as it cools and is easier top eat for potluckers. Also, try using fresh tomatoes not canned. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Absolutely wonderful, we loved it. It was very flavorful and healthy. I did use zucchini in place of the chayotes and used frozen corn instead of corn on the cob. I am sure it would be great either way. Great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Make sure the potatoes are cut in small pieces so they can cook better, and next time i would put them a little earlier. I also added the knorr suiza seasoning and some cumin. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnhkitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This turned out really good. My mother-in-law was upset when she found out I was making caldo de res from a recipe, but when she tasted it she was perfectly happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Artesia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is just like my mother-in-law used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Immokalee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States