Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Very good. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This has become our family's favorite during the cold months. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This is wonderful my husband and his family are from Guadalajara, Jalisco Mexico and i made this and invited them all over. They loved it!!! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I agree with the other reviewers who said the recipe needs garlic and cumin. It is just a basic vegetable soup without those flavor notes. We also added oregano to give the soup more of a Mexican flavor. It is a delicious soup but gets four stars becase it lacks "Mexican" seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ McD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
It is best to have a soup base for this soup, as it gives the soup more flavor. Please note, Caldo de Res Actually translates to "beef soup." This soup is a staple through All of latin america.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This is better than what I get at the restaurant. Only thing I did different was I added 2 tsp of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was more flavorful than I expected. We used stew meat (we are lazy cooks), and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was my first try at Caldo de Res... I was nervous making it. Hoping it would taste as traditional as my friends family make it. it was perfect! i did a little tweaking to suit my family's taste and it was awesome! thank you so much for this!!! now i don't have to wait until a friend brings it along or buy it at the local Mexican Market! thanks a bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. I didn`t add tomatoes altogether with meat, but later (~30 min. after meat simmering). I didn`t find chayotes, so omitted them. Very good soup, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I love this soup ! It tastes like the 'Cadillo soup' from my favorite Tex Mex restaurant. So flavorful and delicious ! I topped the soup with crumbled tortilla chips, and my boys loved it ! I didn't use Chayote. Instead I substituted with zucchinis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States