Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
The key to this recipe is to do everything in stages and slow the process down. I browned 1 pound of stew meat (I couldn't find meaty bones) and then added the onion until soft. I added one regular can of stewed tomatoes and one 32 ounce can (4 cups) of beef broth and simmered that for 2 hours. While that was simmering, in a separate pot, I had some small marrow bones (about 6),and simmered those in 4 cups of water I skimmed the fat and the scum and added all that liquid to the soup pot. Then, I added 1 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp of garlic salt. I also added 6 peppercorns and still added a little more garlic salt and pepper. Then, I added 4 carrots (1 inch pieces) and 2 stalks of celery sliced about 1/2 inch and simmered that for 20 minutes. Then, I added 4 medium-sized red potatoes cut into 8ths and 2 ears of corn cut into thirds and simmered that for 20 minutes. Then, I added 2 zucchini cut into 1 inch slices (instead of chayotes) and a very small head of cabbage that was cored and cut into 2 inch pieces then simmered that in the soup for 20 minutes. I did not add cilantro because some people do not like it. I took some to the nice neighbor lady who has been so kind to us and she called me back in about a half hour to tell me how good the soup was, especially the little corn on the cob that was still a little crunchy and oh so good. Phenomenal recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Sometimes I don't have time to brown the meat and the soup still tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
My husband asked me to make a soup since we were having some cold days...well I followed this recipe and it came out beyond good. My husband said I nailed it the first time ?? and that it was beyond restaurant quality ?? I ? it myself ... I'm proud of myself really, it was amazingly good ?? I added squash, celery and boneless meat...perfect! Thank you for the tips and tricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I normally make my own, but due to foot injury my boyfriend had to make Caldo. He found this recipe and I was so impressed. The only reason I knew he looked it up was because he left it on the computer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautytoons
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I love cocido (caldo de res) and have been searching for a good recipe for years! I'm African American but dated a Mexican man whose mother made this all the time and I must say this is as good as hers. I did use 3 different types of meat (1 pound each) of beef shank, short ribs and chuck. I browned the meat and once I added the onion, tomatoes and broth, I let it all simmer for 2 hours so that the meat was undeniably tender. Otherwise, every thing else was followed precisely. I will make this again and again!! Thanks for an easy to follow recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Amazing! Gracias
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I agree with CK about a better meat choice as has been our family's tradition.. Shank and oxtails may impart flavor to the broth, but neither tastes as delicious as when with meaty beef short ribs...a bit pricier, but well worth it. The broth is richer in flavor as well. One other suggestion, add chunks of your favorite squash at the final ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I thought the recipe could've used some ground Cumin-this adds more of a Mexican taste- I seasoned to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda Gramza

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
So good! I can't wait until colder weather now. I did add the chayote squash but left out the pickled jalapeños and onions for garnish. Next time I will omit or chop up the radishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Been a while since I made this soup so came here to have my mind refreshed. This is very close to how I make it, except I use stewed canned tomatoes and a beef bouillon cube instead of the beef broth. I also like to blend a potato in water and add it for thickness. This is a very good recipe, some don't have the step of frying up the meat which makes a huge differnce. Excellent recipe, yields a great flavor soup that the whole family can appreciate. Don't understand the reviews complaining about all that is involved, I guess I am just used to cooking because the steps take me about 20 mins, and once it is simmering there is plenty of time to clean up or write reviews before having to add the veggies. Oh I add cumin sometimes and serve it up with tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States