Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this as written and it was delicious. In the future, because I will make this again, I will use a bag of frozen corn instead of on the cob. I will use 1/2 the cabbage and cut it and the zucchini into smaller pieces. I will double the cilantro added to the soup, add additional stew meat, and 2 packets sazon. Wow, I know it seems like I am changing alot but really these changes will not alter the flvor of this delicious soup. It will make it less messy to eat and my son likes extra meat. Thank you for sharing a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Real comfort food & the recipe made PLENTY - enough to share with a couple of friends and neighbors who all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Amazing 5 start recipe BUT please note that I made a few changes of my own. First I used 2-1/2 lbs of beef stew cubed meat instead of the beef shank. I added 1/4 tsp garlic powder to the meat as it browned in addition to salt and pepper and I used 1 tbsp onion powder since my husband doesn't like onions. I also used 3 cans of beef broth and a bit of water to cover the meat and 1/8 tap cumin. 4 cups water, added 2 extra potatoes, 2 zucchini instead of chayotes and 1 extra carrot. Oh and added 1/4 tap garlic salt for taste preference. I didn't make any of the toppings because we just ate it with some spanish rice and a bit of Louisiana. All in all took about 3 hours and AMAZING! This was SO good it exceeded my expectations. Great hearty soup. I made this on a cold, rainy Sunday at about 3 and we ate ate it for the rest of the day! It was that good. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kfaro07

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Selma, California, USA
Photo by datgrlsylvia
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
this recipe was so awesome, i just added more water/broth, alot more potatos and threw in some chopped celery and about a tbsp of cummin. IT WAS DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I seasoned a little more to taste but this is a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was delicious! I live in a border town and get to eat authentic mexican food and this recipe is as good as I have had. I didn't have chayotes and Cumin is a must in mexican dishes, so I added 2 tsp. when I added the onion. If you have spanish rice on hand, add it to your bowl when serving. I'm so glad to have a Caldo recipe! It's a keeper. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This recipe is excellent, very authentic! Authentic Caldo de Res is not supposed to be spicy. I used 3 lbs. of beef shank and boiled it for about 4 hours until it fell off the bones. Then I scooped out the bones and trimmed most of the fat. I sauted 2 cloves of chopped garlic with the onion and added about 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. I used small ears of frozen corn and skipped the chayote and used 3 potatoes. Next time I think I will throw in a zucchini. I served this with warm flour tortillas, some Mexican rice and homemade chile'. My husband LOVED it! Thanks so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyto2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is sooooooo good! The recipe says to serve the bones in your bowl but I pulled those out and the round fat and gristle that were attached to the bone. They just were not look appetizing and I was already throwing a new dish to my family. I cooked pretty much as the recipes said with only the addition of some cumin (as other reviewers suggested) and a can of the HOT rotel. That one can gave the whole soup a nice kick. Plus, I probably added to the cooking time quit a bit just making sure my meat and then the veggies were tender. I used all the toppings suggested, I didn't need the jalepeno though because of the rotel. Was really surprised at how good the squeeze of lime complimented the dish. This is an excellent dish, not typical, very surprising wonderful flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Excellent! We all loved it, great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I wish I could back up the other reviews, but this came out completely bland. I used no water and all beef broth, but after adding bouillon cubes, salt, cayenne, garlic, cumin, etc., nothing could make this a yummy soup. I did cook this in a crockpot, but I still browned the meat and onions first, which should have helped boost the taste. After two days of sitting (that usually increases flavor) it was still bland. If you like strong flavors, this may not be for you. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States