Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Awesome recipe. Helped my boyfriend kick his headcold in no time! I added garlic and comino like my mom used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is similar to the caldo recipe that was handed down in my husband's family. The only difference is their recipe doesnt include tomatoes. Very good on a cold winter day. It is also easy to make in a crock pot. Just skip browning the beef and onions if you are in a hurry, throw all the ingredients together into a crock pot and let it cook on high for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamanunez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This far exceeded my expectations!!! Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Used stew meat. Added 1 T. cumin. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I was craving this soup, that my grandma used to make when I was a kid. Overall, made for an AMAZING meal that reminded me of cold sunday afternoons spent watching Sabado Gigante with my abuelita. I didn't give it five starts because I thought it was a bit bland when I followed the directions as is. First off, I couldn't find beef shank at my local big box grocery store, so I went with a small chuck roast augmented with cut beef ribs. Instead of plain diced tomatoes, I used Del Monte diced tomatoes with green chiles. I also added half a can of tomato sauce when I added the vegetables to give it more color and flavor. Also, the chayote was too expensive for my taste, so I went with zucchini squash instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was great. My boyfriend is from Mexico and was impressed. I made a few minor changes...I used beef necks instead of shanks, added a little pressed garlic, a teaspoon of cumin, and diceds japs. Also I made this in the crockpot!! =] I just added the corn, cabbage, and potatoes in the last 45 minutes. 5 stars! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna7532

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Maine, USA
Living In: Knox, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was fantastic. I used boneless short ribs (wish I had trimed off some of the fat) and added the mexican spice packet as someone suggested and some Huy Fong chili garlic sauce (key to make it spicy). I served it at a soup party (without the chili sauce)and received a number of first place votes- I am entering it next year WITH the chili sauce and I think I have a good shot at winning. I make soup all the time and this one is really, really fantastic (and SUPER easy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
this soup is fabulous. i've made it several times - omitting the salt and chayotes. love, love, love this soup. making it in a few weeks for halloween party and i'm sure it'll be a hit as usual. serve with sliced avacado and tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ehreng
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Delicious... I only had chicken broth but added some beef flavoring in with the meats and it tasted just fine. Also added a fresh jalapeno and small chile when I put in the cabbage. The advice many people gave to add 1/4 t cumin was spot-on as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehreng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I loved this recipe. Reminds me of the soup my mom used to make all the time. Caldo de Res is actually from all over Latin America not only Mexico :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States