Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Love this recipe! Very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Too much work for a rather normal flavor. Plus, nobody liked the work involved with the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Best soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is a great recipe! My husband loves this and eats it with a little lime squeezed on top. I followed it to a "t". Just amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathleen F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
YUM! I used frozen ear corn- fresh in February was just too much money. The chayote was great in it! I did add a bit of cumin to the meat while I was frying it- but that is my family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This is a comforting, down home beef stew. There's no spice or seasoning other than the beef and vegetable flavor. Some would call it bland, but I call it comforting. Not all Mexican dishes are loaded with spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This soup is fantastic as is and is well-deserved of 5 stars. I kicked it up a notch by adding half a teaspoon each of chipotle powder and cumin. I had also made a roast the day before which I diced and used as the meat. This will likely become a staple soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Big hit at our house!!! Thanks for the awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I make soup almost every Sunday and decided to try this one. Excellent flavor! I used a can of corn since corn was not in season and added 2 packages of Sazon Goya cilantro and tomato! Will definately make again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was wonderful! My Hispanic friend made this for me before but I didn't get the recipe. This was very close, though I don't think she uses tomatoes. I couldn't find beef shank so I used about a lb of beef marrow soup bones and then another pound or so of beef stew meat. I also added jalapeno when I put in the corn and potatoes to give it a little kick and a bit of cumin as the other reviewers suggested. The flavor was superb, the broth to die for. The SO raved about it though he didn't "get" the corn cob in there. "What's that for? It's like soup but with a big chunk of corn in there." I disagree and love the idea that while eating and slurping such deliciousness one can take a break and eat one of my all time favorite things: corn on the cob! Fantastic, five stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States