Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I'm a black woman. My husband is Mexican and grew up in a traditional mexican (food wise) house hold. He told me about a beef soup that his grandma would make and it had squash, corn, tomatoes, etc! So I researched. I found this recipe and made it for him as a surprise (hoping and praying that it was what he was yearning for. When he tasted this Caldo de Res, he said it brought him back to his younger days. He felt that it was just as good as his grandma used to make it. He invited his brothers and sisters over and they all loved it. This recipe is a keeper for my Mexican! Thanx ALOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I'm Guatemalan, and this is one of our dishes that i grew up eating. My mom has made it for years and I love it. I have no idea what her recipe is, because its always a pinch of this a bit of that ya know, no specific instructions. And I need exact measurements :) So i googled and found this. It came out perfectly, exactly like my moms. I added 1 packet of sazon goya and some sazonador. I'd recommended doing 5 cups of water instead of 4, and I used beef ribs. It was fabulous. You of course NEED to add fresh squeezed lime as a garnish to your own bowl to make it perfect and don't forget to have some avocados and rice! i just used steamed white rice! I like to dip it in to my bowl by the spoonful. This recipes is a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Pretty nice. The lime is essential for flavour, do NOT skip it. Also, I have no idea what chayotes are but I subbed zucchini and it wasn't very good, they were a little bitter, maybe it was just the particular zucchini that I used, but I think it would be fine to just skip altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
i cannot stress enough how amazing this was! i made as follows, but used about 75% vegetable broth, and 25% water. i couldn't find chayotes, so subbed zucchini as recommended. i will definitely make again... once i get through all these leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Love this recipe! Very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Too much work for a rather normal flavor. Plus, nobody liked the work involved with the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Best soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is a great recipe! My husband loves this and eats it with a little lime squeezed on top. I followed it to a "t". Just amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathleen F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
YUM! I used frozen ear corn- fresh in February was just too much money. The chayote was great in it! I did add a bit of cumin to the meat while I was frying it- but that is my family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States