Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Awesome soup!!! Very easy to make. My dad (Hispanic) told me he was in the mood for "Caldo." I didn't have a recipe that I use. I usually just throw all the ings. together and that's it. I'm glad I decided to try something different from what I usually make for him. It's one of the best soups I've ever had. I can't wait for my dad to get here to try it - he's bringing the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this soup as written, except I substituted beef short ribs (couldn't find beef shank with much of any meat on the bone). Although it calls for a lot of ingredients, I thought the end result was well worth the effort. It's is a terrific soup! I reminds me a lot of Vietnamese Pho. In fact, I'd bet adding basil leaves, mung beans and sriracha sauce would be great. Kind of a Mexican Pho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Delicious! Just like my grandmother would make on the weekends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VidaM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Definitely follow the others advise. This recipe needs at least 1 tbs of cumin. I also thickened my soup a bit with corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
So fresh and hearty on a cold day!!! Must add jalapeño at the end!!! Perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great taste, I will definitely make this again and again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reyna
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This soup is DELICIOUS, coming from an Hispanic family they tend to make a lot of sopa de res, but this one is just amazing who would've thought of adding canned tomatoes to it? Not me but I'm glad I came across this recipe. Only thing I would say is the soup doesn't have a lot of flavor so I added some beef seasoning to it so enhance the flavor and it turned out good! I was looking at other reviews I came across with a lot of them saying add garlic and cumin... Glad I did turned out very delicious this is a must try recipe that I will surely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momof8
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I loved it and i added mushrooms was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
DEEELICiOUS ! I used 3 strips of bacon instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is the first time making this soup..it is delicious..great flavors..I added a little rice..will most definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States