Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Amazing! Gracias
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I agree with CK about a better meat choice as has been our family's tradition.. Shank and oxtails may impart flavor to the broth, but neither tastes as delicious as when with meaty beef short ribs...a bit pricier, but well worth it. The broth is richer in flavor as well. One other suggestion, add chunks of your favorite squash at the final ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I thought the recipe could've used some ground Cumin-this adds more of a Mexican taste- I seasoned to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda Gramza

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
So good! I can't wait until colder weather now. I did add the chayote squash but left out the pickled jalapeños and onions for garnish. Next time I will omit or chop up the radishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Been a while since I made this soup so came here to have my mind refreshed. This is very close to how I make it, except I use stewed canned tomatoes and a beef bouillon cube instead of the beef broth. I also like to blend a potato in water and add it for thickness. This is a very good recipe, some don't have the step of frying up the meat which makes a huge differnce. Excellent recipe, yields a great flavor soup that the whole family can appreciate. Don't understand the reviews complaining about all that is involved, I guess I am just used to cooking because the steps take me about 20 mins, and once it is simmering there is plenty of time to clean up or write reviews before having to add the veggies. Oh I add cumin sometimes and serve it up with tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pho54
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I absolutely adore this soup...it's so delicious...it's incredible how flavorful it is....in regards to the recipe, I cheated and used stew meat beef instead...to compensate for the flavor loss (from not using the meat with bone) I added a beef bullion cube....came out awesome...thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Awesome soup!!! Very easy to make. My dad (Hispanic) told me he was in the mood for "Caldo." I didn't have a recipe that I use. I usually just throw all the ings. together and that's it. I'm glad I decided to try something different from what I usually make for him. It's one of the best soups I've ever had. I can't wait for my dad to get here to try it - he's bringing the jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this soup as written, except I substituted beef short ribs (couldn't find beef shank with much of any meat on the bone). Although it calls for a lot of ingredients, I thought the end result was well worth the effort. It's is a terrific soup! I reminds me a lot of Vietnamese Pho. In fact, I'd bet adding basil leaves, mung beans and sriracha sauce would be great. Kind of a Mexican Pho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Delicious! Just like my grandmother would make on the weekends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VidaM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Definitely follow the others advise. This recipe needs at least 1 tbs of cumin. I also thickened my soup a bit with corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States