Caldo Verde (Portuguese Green Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Mmmmmmmmmmmm just like mom's !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This recipe is fantastic. Very easy. We don't have anywhere to buy the liguica so also switched to chorico. The kids prefer the ground type rather than links cut up. All time favorite soup and kids will eat kale! Win for mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Good récipé, but after having made zuppa Toscana, this was much more bland. This was very. Lose to the same recipe that my Portuguese friend makes. For those looking for more flavour, try zuppa Toscana very similar ingredients, much mor flavour richer soup altogether
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I loved this soup and I am not even Portuguese (and did not grow up with this soup). But once I tried it I couldn't resist. I don't understand how some reviews called it bland, I found it to be very flavourful! The chorizo I used was the spicy kind, so maybe that made a big difference. I also added a couple of cubes of vegetable stock for a little extra flavour. Definitely going to be a regular recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Made this soup,didn't like it no taste at all,had this soup in the algarve,it was good,so was hoping this was the same,won't make it again,maybe been better with vegetable stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
One of my favorite soups. I use hot Italian sausage or Chirizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
It's good when you can get Portuguese Chourice...if you can't, add a good couple of shakes of smoked paprika (one of the main flavors of chourico) it makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
A great, classic...kale and hearty. I used white rose potatoes and thought 6 would be too many so I only used four 3 in. potatoes. Next time I'll use 6. Used a quart of low-sodium vegetable broth, one quart of water and a teaspoon of chicken soup base. Added a pat of butter to finish each bowl instead of oil. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
we love caldo verde but we find it hard to find liguica or even good chorico here in new port richey :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reese
Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I adapted this with vegetarian chorizo and added a bit of sharp cheddar as a garnish per another reviewer's suggestion. I also reduced the salt substantially because my soyrizo is very high in sodium. My extremely picky, green-vegetable-hating son and husband both LOVED this soup. I expected them merely to tolerate it, at best. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States