Caldo Verde (Portuguese Green Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Very good, not quite like my mother in law's, but very good. I did switch the liguica for chorico and more than doubled the amount, but thats how I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I loved this reciepe!! It was so good and very easy to make, however the only thing I changed was instead of boiling the potatoes in water I used 3 cans of chicken broth, one can of the low sodium low salt and then 2 cups of water, it seemed to give the soup more rich flavor and good color. Very good soup I will continue to make this for years!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Most excellent soup! As with most soups, this needs to sit overnight for best flavor. Linguicia is hard to find but worth the effort (usually in the smoke sausage section). I left the potatoes in small cubes. I simmered in the crockpot because I like the kale well done. This was a hit with our guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I loved this soup as a child. I tried it this way but I really wasn't very happy with the outcome. Here is some advice. I added 2 splashes of half and half cream and a handful of medium cheddar cheese. After that not only did my kids inhale it they asked me for more the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Great soup. A nice blend of rich and creamy from the potato base, exciting spicy bites of sausage (we used the spicy kind)and fresh tasting healthy kale in every bite. At first I thought there was no way all that kale would mix in but it did just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
I substituted chorizo for the linguica and added a can of hominy. The kids, who will rarely eat anything green, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
I thought the soup came out okay, but a little more bland than other kale soups I had before. Perhaps I should've substituted chourico for linguica. Felicia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Excellent. Used smoked Polish sausage, instead of linguica, which I'll be sure to try next time. Still turned out wonderfully. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
As written, the recipe is very bland. I had to add chicken bouillon and extra salt and pepper. But once that was added, the soup was amazing!!! Next time I make this, I might add another potato or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I did not have good results with this, though I really was looking forward to trying it, we ate it, but I won't be making it again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States