Caldo Verde (Portuguese Green Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Yum! Simple and quick recipe. HIGHLY recommend searching for that Portuguese Linguisa, Chorizo tends to fall apart and doesn't taste as good. If you have a Sams Club or Costco thats where I found it. I find kale to be much better softer, so leave it in for 10-15 minutes. I grew up with it being pretty soft. Also, I added more water to serve more. Overall great recipe, enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I used radish leaves instead of kale, slice canned potatoes instead of fresh and 1 qt organic beef broth with 1 qt organic vegetable broth. I had some left over sweet sausage (organic) and this was icredibly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Very easy, very good, and a nice way to serve some nutricious winter greens. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I did not have good results with this, though I really was looking forward to trying it, we ate it, but I won't be making it again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I love Caldo Verde. I have found that chorizo is best, but any garlic seasoned smoked pork sausage will do, and if you can't find nice kale, collard greens work well too! It took a few trys to get this recipe just right for me, but it was well worth the effort getting the right combination of kale, chorizo and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This recipe is delicious! I prepared all of the ingredients the night before (except for the kale) and put everything in my slow cooker. The next day when I came home from work the following day I turned the slow cooker on high for about 20 minutes and put the fresh kale in. It was nice to come home to a hearty meal all ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I substituted low fat smoked beef sausage and replaced the water with chicken broth. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
My husband is from Portugal and we all just love this soup. I add a little more salt and use Portugese sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This was really good soup. It tasted better the next day. I used Italian sausage because it's all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I loved this reciepe!! It was so good and very easy to make, however the only thing I changed was instead of boiling the potatoes in water I used 3 cans of chicken broth, one can of the low sodium low salt and then 2 cups of water, it seemed to give the soup more rich flavor and good color. Very good soup I will continue to make this for years!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States