Caldo Verde (Portuguese Green Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I think this is an excellent, easy recipe. I made several changes: 1) I used chicken broth(instead of water) made from "better than bouillon" concentrate, 2) I used red chard, and 3) I boiled the (yokon gold)potatoes first, then sliced and added them to the already cooked onion and garlic. I used a large onion and 2 cloves of garlic. and 4) I used a lean,Niman Ranch ham instead of the linguica. I pureed the potatoes, garlic and onions after cooking 6-7 minutes, then added the ham, and cooked 5-6 minutes. I steamed the chard and had it as a side dish, to allow family members to add if desired. This was YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Will
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I set my expectations too high on this, even though I should have known it wouldn't be very flavorful due to the small list of ingredients. Even after adding more garlic, tbl. of smoked Spanish paprika and red pepper flakes it still was pretty bland. Once on the table, and everyone added extra salt it tasted much better. I think it's just one of those soups that requires a lot of salt. Using chicken broth next broth would surely alleviate that problem. Otherwise, it was a nice, sturdy and filling dish that was enjoyed with a warm loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJANE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was OUTSTANDING...I loved it and so did the whole family. It was rich, hearty, and healthy. I have made it twice now and it is my new favorite! A side note, I used my boat motor/hand-held mixer to whirl up the kale even smaller because of the kids so the soup was even greener which was fun! I used Silva Sausage for the linguinca! TOTAL 5 STARS! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I have made this many times now and I use 2 cans of coconut milk and reduce the water by about 4 cups. It doesn't have to be exact. And I make Diana's Hawaiian Bread Rolls from this site. This makes it out of this WORLD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thomasandchristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Delicious!! Made it exactly as written and it was devoured!! Thanks for the recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Yum! Simple and quick recipe. HIGHLY recommend searching for that Portuguese Linguisa, Chorizo tends to fall apart and doesn't taste as good. If you have a Sams Club or Costco thats where I found it. I find kale to be much better softer, so leave it in for 10-15 minutes. I grew up with it being pretty soft. Also, I added more water to serve more. Overall great recipe, enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I used radish leaves instead of kale, slice canned potatoes instead of fresh and 1 qt organic beef broth with 1 qt organic vegetable broth. I had some left over sweet sausage (organic) and this was icredibly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Very easy, very good, and a nice way to serve some nutricious winter greens. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I did not have good results with this, though I really was looking forward to trying it, we ate it, but I won't be making it again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I love Caldo Verde. I have found that chorizo is best, but any garlic seasoned smoked pork sausage will do, and if you can't find nice kale, collard greens work well too! It took a few trys to get this recipe just right for me, but it was well worth the effort getting the right combination of kale, chorizo and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States