Caldo Verde (Portuguese Green Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This soup turned out OK. I left it overnight to let the flavors combine but there really isn't much complexity to the flavor of this soup. I did use hot linguica but it doesn't add very much to the flavor of the soup. I was a little disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Definitely not my grandmothers Caldo Verde. She took that recipe to the grave. But, this recipe was pretty good. I substituted two cans of chicken broth and two cans of water. Fortunately, I used my aunts homemade linguica which is out of this world. She will probably take that recipe to the grave too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raymond Canada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
By itself the soups is somewhat plain. I added about 3/4 lb of goat cheese and used hot Italian sausage to give it more flavor. Definitely will make it again this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSU-Toad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I took a little bit of advice from a few of the reviews. I used sauted onions garlic and yukon gold potatoes boiled in 32 oz. chicken broth and 32oz of water. I wilted the kale in broth skimmed off the potatoes and browned slices of Alfrescos sun dried tomato chicken sauage. I pureed the potatoes, kale and broth in a blender and added the sausage. My texture challenged hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieMJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I think this is an excellent, easy recipe. I made several changes: 1) I used chicken broth(instead of water) made from "better than bouillon" concentrate, 2) I used red chard, and 3) I boiled the (yokon gold)potatoes first, then sliced and added them to the already cooked onion and garlic. I used a large onion and 2 cloves of garlic. and 4) I used a lean,Niman Ranch ham instead of the linguica. I pureed the potatoes, garlic and onions after cooking 6-7 minutes, then added the ham, and cooked 5-6 minutes. I steamed the chard and had it as a side dish, to allow family members to add if desired. This was YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Will
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I set my expectations too high on this, even though I should have known it wouldn't be very flavorful due to the small list of ingredients. Even after adding more garlic, tbl. of smoked Spanish paprika and red pepper flakes it still was pretty bland. Once on the table, and everyone added extra salt it tasted much better. I think it's just one of those soups that requires a lot of salt. Using chicken broth next broth would surely alleviate that problem. Otherwise, it was a nice, sturdy and filling dish that was enjoyed with a warm loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJANE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was OUTSTANDING...I loved it and so did the whole family. It was rich, hearty, and healthy. I have made it twice now and it is my new favorite! A side note, I used my boat motor/hand-held mixer to whirl up the kale even smaller because of the kids so the soup was even greener which was fun! I used Silva Sausage for the linguinca! TOTAL 5 STARS! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I have made this many times now and I use 2 cans of coconut milk and reduce the water by about 4 cups. It doesn't have to be exact. And I make Diana's Hawaiian Bread Rolls from this site. This makes it out of this WORLD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thomasandchristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Delicious!! Made it exactly as written and it was devoured!! Thanks for the recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Yum! Simple and quick recipe. HIGHLY recommend searching for that Portuguese Linguisa, Chorizo tends to fall apart and doesn't taste as good. If you have a Sams Club or Costco thats where I found it. I find kale to be much better softer, so leave it in for 10-15 minutes. I grew up with it being pretty soft. Also, I added more water to serve more. Overall great recipe, enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States