Caldo Verde (Portuguese Green Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I have had this soup growing up...as I am Portuguese myself. My parents though, don't like anything that looks white...so my mom always boiled the potatoes with 10-15 mini carrots. The snack ones that are already peeled. It gives this soup some color and extra vitamins...give it a try. Also I read some of the comments and some said this is bland...no matter what recipe you try, you always have to add the amount of salt and pepper to YOUR taste. Everyone is different. Great traditional Portuguese recipe! TY for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My mama used to make this soup and it reminds me of childhood in Brazil This is pretty close. I would give this recipe 5 stars, but had to modify it by reducing the water, adding some chicken stock and reducing the amount of kale. Add garlic, pepper and salt to taste. Not bland at all, pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
nice try good soup, my family's been making it for eaons, i suggest using chorizo instead of linguica. and no its not the same (chorizo has a higher fat content and more flavor) also instead of just water use a 3:1 ratio of chicken broth to water (much more flavorfull) putting the taters through a blender with the liquid before mixing in the other ingredients makes it that much more creamy! also swiss chard is a suitable sub for the kale if you cant find it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Excellent and authentic. I used collard greens instead of kale. I also used 3 cloves of garlic and 2 small onions with 1 shallot. Take the time to blend the potato mixture. It makes all the differnce. I also used the large baking potatoes that you can buy loose at the supermarket. They were so huge that I used 5 instead of 6. I also added a little chicken broth to the potato puree to get the consistency right. My Potuguese husband LOVED this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
As written, the recipe is very bland. I had to add chicken bouillon and extra salt and pepper. But once that was added, the soup was amazing!!! Next time I make this, I might add another potato or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
My family loves this recipe, & is often used in portuguese weddings, but I have a version of my own...Instead of linguica I use chorico, and I cook it in the same pot as the soup. I substitute the kale with collard greens and I also puree some of the greens to make a greener soup, I do add chicken Knorr cube so that the soup isn't so bland..I serve this soup with some crutons on top...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Napanee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Just a little too bland. Tried it again with a bit more salt, garlic, pepper, used chorizo instead of linguica, added about 1/4 cup of minced shallots, and substituted chichen broth for half the water...much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I make this every winter. Its so easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dexmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
6 STARS!!! I haven't had Caldo Verde in almost 20 years, since I left the Azores! Have been craving it like crazy...Found Linguica at the local grocery store, and made it that night! They didn't have any good kale, so I substituted fresh spinach...Incredible!! Thanks for the recipe...I'll be making it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
It was pretty good! I added chicken stock to enhance more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States