Caldo Verde (Portuguese Green Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Great Soup.I wonder how it will taste if made from leftover mashed potato? To save time I buy two bunch of Kale and jullienne in the Food Processor. I roll the leaves very tight and put them in.also use 3 beef bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
great way to use up summer kale! My husband and I love this recipe and make it frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Lovely recipe, my advice to those thinking it's bland is to add bacon bones when you add the potatoes. Take them out before adding the Kale. I have Stephanie Alexanders wonderful book "The Cooks Companion" and this is the only real difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I had to use chorizo instead of linquica and I also used half chicken broth and half water. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This recipe was so good. The real judge was my husband,who is Portuguese, because my MIL has made something similar for my husband all his life. This is a comfort food for my husband, and he thought it might even be better than my MIL's own recipe. So, 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Simple & delicious...what else could you ask for? Was searching for "Creme de collard", which is potato soup with collard greens & sausage, but I refuse to search further...this is now one of our weekly faves! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by qtpie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
It needed more flavor so I added low sodium chicken broth, a tsp of veggie broth base and herbamere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Reminds me of the Zuppa Toscana at Olive Garden. It was good. Used chorizo like other reviewers since I couldn't find linguica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This tasted delicious and is very healthy! I could not find the linguica sausage, so instead I used chorizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I think this is VERY watery and bland --- added lots of salt and other ingredients to modify - so next time I'll make Zuppa Toscana. Maybe it was the chorizo? i prefer italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States