Caldo Gallega Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This was surprisingly tasty. I had some chorizo and some fresh spinach that I needed to use up and searched for recipes using those two ingredients. Thankfully, I decided on this one. I thought at first it would be just blah, but it was actually very good. It wasn't very pretty the day after since the potatoes kind of fell apart, but it still tasted great. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This is a recipe that has been in my family for years. Although it isn't actually from Puerto Rico but from Spain (Galicia, Spain to be exact, hence the name Caldo GALLEGO), the recipe is extremely accurate and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie V.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Very easy to make and exceptionally flavorful. I used a turkey brat in place of the sausage and I had some seasoned pork roast leftovers I added. My husband is a very fussy soup eater and he took seconds. I definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
We loved this soup! I used fresh spinach instead of frozen. The chorizo I used was so spicy it gave the whole pot of soup a kick. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swanton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We loved this soup! I sauteed the meat and onions before adding to the broth and added 1/2tsp black pepper and 1/4tsp cayenne pepper. Healthy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
15 year old said "spinach actually tastes good in here"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simply.tracyscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I've now made this soup several times and it is one of my husband's new favourites...with good reason. It is substantial enough to have as a meal served with some crusty bread. I add a few drops of liquid smoke to it and it's a nice complement. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Sorry, my friend got this recipe while she lived in Puerto Rico, I assumed it was Puerto Rican. I didnt mean to insult anyone. I am truly sorry. I still love the soup!! I do the broth, onion, ham. chorize, garlic and potatoes the night before. Put in the fridge and take the grease off the top the next day and add the beans and spinach. The flavors all infuse together and make it extra yummy. That is the is trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Maxson Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I added 1/2 teaspoon of cumin and 1/2 teaspoon of white pepper. We both thought it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Very grateful for the recipe. Extremely delish! Thanks for sharing Miss Pam!m
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States