Caldo Gallega Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This an insult to any Spaniards...considering I myself am Gallego. This soup come from Galicia which is a region of Spain right next to Portugal. Kale is the staple here not spinach. I suggest finding an authentic recipe. But I did make this to taste it and it is very good....it's just NOT caldo gallego by any means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Sorry, my friend got this recipe while she lived in Puerto Rico, I assumed it was Puerto Rican. I didnt mean to insult anyone. I am truly sorry. I still love the soup!! I do the broth, onion, ham. chorize, garlic and potatoes the night before. Put in the fridge and take the grease off the top the next day and add the beans and spinach. The flavors all infuse together and make it extra yummy. That is the is trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Maxson Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I've now made this soup several times and it is one of my husband's new favourites...with good reason. It is substantial enough to have as a meal served with some crusty bread. I add a few drops of liquid smoke to it and it's a nice complement. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This is a recipe that has been in my family for years. Although it isn't actually from Puerto Rico but from Spain (Galicia, Spain to be exact, hence the name Caldo GALLEGO), the recipe is extremely accurate and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie V.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
The soup did not tase bad. But it is NOT however Caldo Gallego. I am from Galicia Spain where this dish originated from and grew up eating this dish. There are many more ingredients that were omiited like salt pork, kale, pigs feet,chicken,and beef. This is more of a quick fix version with not nearly half of the authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We loved this soup! I sauteed the meat and onions before adding to the broth and added 1/2tsp black pepper and 1/4tsp cayenne pepper. Healthy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I added 1/2 teaspoon of cumin and 1/2 teaspoon of white pepper. We both thought it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Very grateful for the recipe. Extremely delish! Thanks for sharing Miss Pam!m
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
15 year old said "spinach actually tastes good in here"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simply.tracyscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
We loved this soup! I used fresh spinach instead of frozen. The chorizo I used was so spicy it gave the whole pot of soup a kick. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swanton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States