Caldo Gallega Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I've now made this soup several times and it is one of my husband's new favourites...with good reason. It is substantial enough to have as a meal served with some crusty bread. I add a few drops of liquid smoke to it and it's a nice complement. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
We loved this soup! I used fresh spinach instead of frozen. The chorizo I used was so spicy it gave the whole pot of soup a kick. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swanton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This an insult to any Spaniards...considering I myself am Gallego. This soup come from Galicia which is a region of Spain right next to Portugal. Kale is the staple here not spinach. I suggest finding an authentic recipe. But I did make this to taste it and it is very good....it's just NOT caldo gallego by any means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I was really excited about trying this recipe, but must say I was disappointed. I didn't like it and neither did my husband. It was "edible" but I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This was lacking something but it was certainly due to the fact that I omitted the ham because it was the only ingredient I didn't have on hand. So, I added some sazon, which fixed it right up and it tasted delicious! Great taste for very little effort and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This is a recipe that has been in my family for years. Although it isn't actually from Puerto Rico but from Spain (Galicia, Spain to be exact, hence the name Caldo GALLEGO), the recipe is extremely accurate and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie V.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This was surprisingly tasty. I had some chorizo and some fresh spinach that I needed to use up and searched for recipes using those two ingredients. Thankfully, I decided on this one. I thought at first it would be just blah, but it was actually very good. It wasn't very pretty the day after since the potatoes kind of fell apart, but it still tasted great. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Very easy to make and exceptionally flavorful. I used a turkey brat in place of the sausage and I had some seasoned pork roast leftovers I added. My husband is a very fussy soup eater and he took seconds. I definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States