Caldo De Res (Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
this is awesome! thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Excellent, tasty, and inexpensive recipe. This is my new comfort soup-instead of chicken noodle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This was delicious!!! I used canned diced tomatoes and it turned out great. Thank you and God bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Good base. I make mine w/1-2 tsps of adobe spice, 1/2 tsp of oregano, lemon grass, and a whole lemon squeezed in and throw the rind in as well. I also always use a soup beef bone. I also let the spices & meat cook for about 30-45 minutes before adding the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RitaRita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
The caldo de res is very good, but I didn't cook it for as long I didn't want my veggies to get too soft.The taste was great and just like my mom makes it........ : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I haven't had this soup since I was a little girl. I made it and it was delicious! Just don't forget the lime! It's a very important ingredient. I didn't use the exact meat it called for. I actually used 2 lbs of beef meat chopped and it was delicious. Husband loved it! I also took the advice someone else gave-let the meat boil some before you add the rest of the vegetables. And I also didn't measure it exactly as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Duran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I love this soup. It is soo good. My favorite mexican restaurant serves a caldo de res that I love, and I have been looking for a recipe to duplicate it at home and this is very close. I add slices of corn on the cob and large chunks of zucchini to make it like theirs and serve it with fresh lime, mexican rice (put a few spoonfuls of rice and salsa in your soup! awesome) Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I put everything in a crockpot and let it cook all day on low and it was delicious. No beef shanks at the market that day, but I used an inexpensive piece of beef with a bone in it (I think it was a beef chuck roast). I thought it important to use a piece of beef with a bone in it, and I really do think it enriched the broth. It was GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This came out fantastic,i grew up on the mexico border and was yearning for some authentic mexican food,i used the serving size changer to 10, and im never one for using measuring spoons,just add here and there,,i made this for friends last night,,they couldnt stop eating, thanks alex
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This soup was just okay. I added a lot more cilantro at the end and that really added a lot of flavor. Although the recipe says it only makes 4 servings, I made it exactly as it is written and it made about 8-10 servings! My husband didn't care for it so I have a LOT of leftovers to eat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States