Caldo De Res (Beef Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
can't wait to try this, looks (from the picture) just like the Caldo we enjoy at a local Mexican restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbaraRose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I followed exact recipe and it came out delicious. No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Very good I added onion salt and some additional spices, the cilantro is excellent in this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
this is awesome! thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Excellent, tasty, and inexpensive recipe. This is my new comfort soup-instead of chicken noodle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This was delicious!!! I used canned diced tomatoes and it turned out great. Thank you and God bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Good base. I make mine w/1-2 tsps of adobe spice, 1/2 tsp of oregano, lemon grass, and a whole lemon squeezed in and throw the rind in as well. I also always use a soup beef bone. I also let the spices & meat cook for about 30-45 minutes before adding the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RitaRita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
The caldo de res is very good, but I didn't cook it for as long I didn't want my veggies to get too soft.The taste was great and just like my mom makes it........ : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I haven't had this soup since I was a little girl. I made it and it was delicious! Just don't forget the lime! It's a very important ingredient. I didn't use the exact meat it called for. I actually used 2 lbs of beef meat chopped and it was delicious. Husband loved it! I also took the advice someone else gave-let the meat boil some before you add the rest of the vegetables. And I also didn't measure it exactly as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I love this soup. It is soo good. My favorite mexican restaurant serves a caldo de res that I love, and I have been looking for a recipe to duplicate it at home and this is very close. I add slices of corn on the cob and large chunks of zucchini to make it like theirs and serve it with fresh lime, mexican rice (put a few spoonfuls of rice and salsa in your soup! awesome) Great recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States