Calabrese Style Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This is very good. The only thing I did differently was use the butter to saute the garlic before tossing it with the pasta. I prefer a mellower flavor then you get with raw garlic. Adding a little bit of white onion to the saute adds a little sweetness, too. I found this recipe worked well with Parmesan cheese as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I added some grilled chicken on top of the pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
This was simple and delicous. The only changes I made was that I used 1/4 cup of Olive oil and 2TB of butter and added basil and season salt to 1lb of pasta. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
We really liked this dish, but it is a very good thing that we both ate it - crazy garlic breath! Coming from two garlic lovers, we found this dish to have way too much garlic in it, 1 tablespoon of minced garlic is plenty. As well, you could easily reduce the amount of cheese to say...2/3 cup. We will definitely make this again, but reduce the amount of cheese and garlic. I made this again, reduced the amount of cheese and garlic - and when I drained the pasta, I left a small amount of pasta water clinging to the noodles, made the sauce even creamier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
i love garlic but this was way too much. I even put in much less than what was required. We ate some but ended up throwing the rest of it out. I ate it last night and I still have a strong garlic taste in my mouth :( ick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
GREAT.....Nice and light but has great taste to it. My husband you generally doesn't like pasta without some kind of red sauce or alfredo sauce enjoyed it for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Spaghetti with butter and parmesean cheese has been a long standing favorite in our house, but this surpasses it by far. The garlic adds a really nice touch, kind of a slight hint of extra taste in the back ground. I wouldn't normally use this much butter or cheese when I make this, but I did this time and boy was I surprised how much better it was. The cheese and butter get gooey and make a sort of sauce. My daughter and I will have this as a full meal when it is just the two of us, but will also make a great side dish to chicken. Thanks Paula, you improved on a dish I already loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I now eat this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
My new favorite way to make pasta. So easy & flavorful just as the recipe is. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This was sooo good, and soo easy! I've made this several times for friends, and we eat it all the time at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States