Calabrese Style Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Spaghetti with butter and parmesean cheese has been a long standing favorite in our house, but this surpasses it by far. The garlic adds a really nice touch, kind of a slight hint of extra taste in the back ground. I wouldn't normally use this much butter or cheese when I make this, but I did this time and boy was I surprised how much better it was. The cheese and butter get gooey and make a sort of sauce. My daughter and I will have this as a full meal when it is just the two of us, but will also make a great side dish to chicken. Thanks Paula, you improved on a dish I already loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This is very good. The only thing I did differently was use the butter to saute the garlic before tossing it with the pasta. I prefer a mellower flavor then you get with raw garlic. Adding a little bit of white onion to the saute adds a little sweetness, too. I found this recipe worked well with Parmesan cheese as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
We really liked this dish, but it is a very good thing that we both ate it - crazy garlic breath! Coming from two garlic lovers, we found this dish to have way too much garlic in it, 1 tablespoon of minced garlic is plenty. As well, you could easily reduce the amount of cheese to say...2/3 cup. We will definitely make this again, but reduce the amount of cheese and garlic. I made this again, reduced the amount of cheese and garlic - and when I drained the pasta, I left a small amount of pasta water clinging to the noodles, made the sauce even creamier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This is such a simple yet elegant side dish. I use olive oil instead of butter and some red pepper flakes. I also break up the spagetti into pieces.Just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Great bare roots pasta recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I added some grilled chicken on top of the pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
this is a quick and delicious recipe. I use i can't believe it's not butter fat free spray to be a little more health conscious and it still tastes great. THanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
I love this! I threw in some chopped black olives for texture. It's my new "comfort" food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
a very good dish! Obviously the star of this dish is the romano cheese and that is what caught my eye. It adds so much flavor to the pasta. If you like the taste of romano cheese this pasta will suit you well. Others may not take to the strong sharpness of this cheese. I slightly undercooked the pasta then set it aside. I reserved a little of the pasta water while I continued preparing this dish. I thought the cooking method of tossing 2T of RAW garlic into the hot pasta would not suit well with me so I chose to sautee it in almost a 1/4 cup of butter, not 1/2 of a cup, along with 2T of olive oil. I added just 1T of minced garlic to the skillet. Once the garlic started to cook in the butter and olive oil, I threw in the pasta, then tossed to coat. I then added 3/4 cup of grated romano cheese and mixed to make sure everythiing was evenly distributed with cheese. I turned off the burner and added a little of the reserved pasta water to wet it slightly and to give just a little creamy "sauce". I topped it off with a little more romano cheese and a sprinkle of fresh, minced italian flat leaf parsely. I loved the sharpness from the romano cheese. It was nicely melted in the pasta. I am glad that I did not add the full amount of 2T raw garlic, as I know it would have been overpowering for me. I would prepare this dish again, only with my modifications. This was served along with, "Ciabatta" bread, from this site as well as a small tossed green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Very good and extremely easy. The recipe calls for way too much butter. It can probably be cut by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States