Calabacitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
This is delicious and unique! I love the combination of zuchinni, beans, and corn. I omitted the poblano and added about 1 tsp. of ground cumin and 1 tsp. of chili powder to perk up the flavors. I served with low-fat cheddar cheese and taco sauce. I can't wait to have this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Somewhat bland. My grandmother's recipe always used jalapeno, diced red pepper, fresh cut corn off the cob, diced zucchini & yellow squash and perhaps a bit of cilantro and no beans. We use this as a filling for a warm tortilla. It's a nice meatless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Easy! I prepared this the night before and carried it to a pitch-in. It was a great side with the fajitas that were served. I did add a can of tomatoes and chilis. I am glad I did. I think it would have been a bit bland. It was also great warmed up and covered with a bit of cheese. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLAURIE84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I tend to take the best of all recommended changes to recipes and make my own personal masterpiece. And I did with this dish, which came out delicious. I made 12 servings for a friend's Cinco De Mayo party, which was more than I expected, yet most of it was eaten up, mostly as a side dish, but also as a main course for the two vegetarians at the party. Here's the changes I made to the four (4 ) serving recipe originally shown on allrecipes.com: Instead of 4 zucchini, I used 2 zucchini and 2 butternut squash (for color). I used 1 can of Ro*Tel tomatoes because they're lightly spicy, and 1 tablespoon of cilantro. I then covered and sauteed until soft, over medium heat, stirring about once a minute. Then, I stirred in the recommended amount of corn, but reduced the beans by 1/3, about 10 ounces. While that mixture was heating, I added the recommended amount of salt, plus 1 fresh lime, 1 teaspoon of chili powder, and 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. Continue to cook uncovered, stirring about once a minute. I also found out it's just as delicious cold as warm. If you can let it sit for a few hours in the refrigerator, and then thoroughly stir it, and microwave it (or serve it cold), it tastes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I really like this recipe! Easy, lots of veg. Needed a little more seasoning, since I don't like spicy food and omitted the poblano. I also tried it as is and then with a can of diced tomatoes. The tomatoes definitely added a lot to the flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I love green chilis so I add them. I omit the beans. I dice everything but the garlic. That I mince. And where are the tomatoes? I didn't have any fresh so I put in a can of Ro*Tel. Tomatoes really add something for me and so does the pepper jack cheese I had on hand. I also added Texas Gunpowder which is dried ground jalapeno in a shaker. I needed more salt too. My husband eats this with sour cream on a tortilla and loves it (so do I). We aren't vegans so if I have it, I'll even add some leftover pork or chicken. You really can't mess this up. You gotta love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karyn8sons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
For all that color and contrast it was like a trick on your tastebuds once it hit your mouth - where did the flavor go?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
A little bland, but a great starter recipe. I had to add some cumin and fresh lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Very good side dish recipe. I substituted canned green chilies for the poblano and added some chili powder. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I added an avocado just before serving it and used hot sauce to give it a bit more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin in cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Chicken Taco Dinner

This meal of tacos with black beans and chocolate pudding is under 600 calories.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States