Calabacitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
So I changed this a bit. My husband has to have meat, so I cooked bacon, and instead of the olive oil I cooked it in some of the bacon grease leaving the bacon in the pan. I also added a jalapeno, green pepper and red pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
We don't mix the beans with the zuccini in Mexico. The original recipe only uses corn, green chile roasted slices and cream. The chile pepper is not supposed to be red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Omit the black beans, use hot Hatch green chile (anaheims) instead of the poblano. Best if the chiles are roasted and peeled. A New Mexico classic on a tortilla topped with red chile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Benbrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Seasoning is not balanced at all. Definitely needs some acidity. Lime or lemon juice would be good, but I used rice vinegar because that's what I had on hand. Really perked up the earthiness of the beans. I used "regular" corn, which isn't very sweet, so I added a shredded carrot. Next time, I'll make sure to buy organic frozen white corn. Added a few grinds of black pepper, but if I make this for spice-minded folks in the future, will add a minced habanero or sprinkle of chipotle powder. As others have said, a good start. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
For all that color and contrast it was like a trick on your tastebuds once it hit your mouth - where did the flavor go?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is a great veggie meal. I used jalapeno rather than poblano pepper and added about 1 tsp of cumin. I served this with flour tortillas and shredded pepper jack cheese, but it tastes great on its own as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I really liked this. I used the actual Calabacita squash/zucchini. It tastes so much better than the regular. I also used a jalapeno olive oil instead of the peppers. i didn't put in the beans ( I didn't have any) I added 1/2 a red bell pepper instead! Supper yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Normally I do not enjoy zucchini very much but loved it in this recipe! It was so yummy! This recipe was also very easy to make and put together. I followed the directions except used canned corn instead of frozen. We put it in corn tortillas and topped with cheese. We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Very good. I used a combination of zucchini and yellow squash and replaced the poblano pepper with a jalapeno. Very tasty and refreshing, thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Casablancaise
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This is my favorite side dishe with all mexican entrees. It has it all, veggies, grains and beans. The only thing I change about it is adding some cumin, about a teaspoon and some chopped cilantro at the end for mor flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Chicken Taco Dinner

This meal of tacos with black beans and chocolate pudding is under 600 calories.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States