Calabacitas con Elote (Zucchini with Corn) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
cotija is a mexican cheese that is white and crumbly, similar to feta - i would try that if you can't find cotija!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This was an excellent, flavorful dish, with lots of awesome veggies in it! My market was out of poblanos so I used a jalapeno, which was fine. Wish I could have found the cotija, but we're a little far north for that, so I used a good mountain feta instead; if you go that route, I'd recommend adding it to each serving as it's plated, since it kind of disappears in the pan. I'd also definitely recommend not sauteeing the garlic with the onions for more than a minute or so, since the heat is so high; mine was starting to burn before I could pick my spoon up off the counter. And next time I might halve the recipe since it makes a ton. Still excellent, though; thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Can someone tell me what cotija cheese is and where to buy it? It is not in our grocery stores... {Canada} Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by midwestchef
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This is a good recipe for using all that summer zucchini! I did not add cheese and it was still delicious. Be careful not to over cook the zucchini, as it will be mushy if cooked too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was a good, solid recipe, and we enjoyed it and have made it a couple of times. It's not "oh my goodness - amazing!" quality, but definitely a nice, tasty sort of weeknight side-dish. I tossed the (cheese-less) leftovers the next morning into my scrambled eggs, which I enjoyed a lot (probably enough to make this dish specifically for that purpose), which made my breakfast a bit healthier due to the vegetables. Cotija cheese is available in pretty much every supermarket in southern california, so I had no problems finding that, but I think it would also be good with queso fresco, panela, or any mild and crumbly sheep's milk cheese. I don't think feta would be a good substitute, as suggested by previous reviewers because it's too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Straight-up fantastico! Didn't take nearly 50 minutes, but I chop fast. Didn't have fresh corn, but look forward to the first crop. Served on the side of a slow cooker Cochinita Pibil with some tortillas. Will be eating a lot of this over the summer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
this dish is fantastic,my family loved it,a healthy alternative side dish. very easy to prepare and cook,goes well with most meats great by itself. make sure you use fresh corn,will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This wasn't my fav. I like all the components but wasn't a bit fan of them all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I once found cotija cheese at Walmart near the cream cheese, cottage cheese, ricotta cheese section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This was delicious and easy. I didn't boil the corn; I just tossed it in with the zucchini. I don't like mushy tomatoes, so I added mine with the pepper (I used roasted NM green chile). I omitted the cotija because I'm not a fan of cheese with veggies. This was excellent in a burrito with Refried Beans Without the Refry (also from this site) and guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States