Calabacitas con Elote (Zucchini with Corn) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
So good. The only peppers I had on hand were jalapenos, so I diced up on of those and threw it in. I added cumin and skipped the cheese. Loved the use of the fresh corn in this. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Super easy, and the fresh flavors are amazing together! I bought everything from a local farmers market, which the kids really enjoyed visiting... although they refused to eat the results. My husband, however, has once again re-declared his undying love. Thank you, gema! I'll be making this year-round. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I don't normally like zucchini and even I thought this was great. Only because of time constraints, I substituted frozen corn and a small can of green chilies. I had some great home-grown tomatoes on hand so I used those instead of roma. I am sure I would like this even more with fresh corn and a fresh poblano pepper. But this was easy and delicious. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was a very tasty way to serve vegetables! My mom isn't a fan of the heat so the poblano pepper worried her a bit but although I wasn't sure, I told her I doubted it was hot because so many reviews mentioned adding a jalapeno or some sort of kick. I wouldn't have minded a kick but my mom's not a fan so we made it as is. Very tasty! The only change from original recipe was we used frozen corn kernels. I'm sure it would be even better with fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
So easy and so yummy. I used frozen corn instead of fresh cobs. I also sprinkled with feta cheese because I had some left over from another recipe. The flavor is slightly different from cotija, but not enough to notice in the quantity used for garnish and the texture is pretty much identical. This is a really great way to include some very tasty veggies into a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
great side. Try adding jalapenos for heat with the onions and fresh chopped cilantro at the end. Squueze of lime with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This wasn't my fav. I like all the components but wasn't a bit fan of them all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
THIS RECIPE IS AWESOME! I MAKE IT EVERY WEEK. COTIJA IS A MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
super yummy - i used queso fresco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I made this because I had a bunch of zucchini left from my garden. We actually ate this as the meal, just served in tortillas like Fajitas. The only complaint my husband had was that there was too much liquid..so next time I will cook with the lid off and let the liquid evaporate. I did use feta because I couldn't find cotija cheese. And I used frozen corn that I had on hand and it tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States