Calabacitas con Elote (Zucchini with Corn) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I use this site all the time but don't often post reviews. This recipe deserved a review. I've made it several times; it's is a fabulous way to use zucchini and fresh corn. I added bell peppers too. Instead of a poblano I used a habanero which gave it a nice smoky flavor. Like other posters I used feta, which was perfect. I had so much that I have transformed the extra into a delicious cream soup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Great way to use up a bumper crop of zucchini. I added peri-peri instead of poblano and I used herbed goat cheese instead of cotija. But what really put this recipe over the top was using grilled corn cut off the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Excellent as written, even better if you skip the cilantro and sprinkle in about 1/4 tsp. cumin and for (or in addition to) the poblano pepper substitute a large jalapeno (seeded if you like so it won't be too spicy) and chopped, with the onions & garlic while sauteing in pan. We ate this as a main dish with four flour tortillas that I steamed one at a time over the simmering vegetables and buttered and stacked on warm plate. There are only two uf us and there were NO leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
i make this all the time, but when i use a can of whole corn and after veggies are done i sprinkle with monterey jack cheese, put a lid on and turm heat off and let it melt for about 5 minutesl .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Excellent! I even used frozen corn and it was great! I'm glad to have a new side dish to serve with Mexican food besides variations on rice and beans. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
My husband said it was the best calabacitas I had ever made. I used fresh corn and roasted the chiles. I cut the zuccini on my mandolin for uniform slices. Will keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This was a nice addition to steak and potatoes! I have had calabacitas before in a small Mexican restaurant that was delicious and this was a nice recreation! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was fantastic! Even my picky toddlers ate this, which is really saying something. I left out the onion and used frozen corn kernels. I forgot the cojita cheese the first time and it was still extremely tasty. With the leftovers I used the cojita and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
we really enjoyed this dish.. didn't have the poblano.. probably used more cheese than called for.. and i couldn't imagine going without it.. i think cotija is closer in taste to parm than feta.. feta comes off too sour.. cotija is just a salty cheese.. anyway, ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I used this recipe for guidance, but didn't measure things. It was a great way to use up a plethora of zukes and summer squash! (I used some of each.) I didn't have cojita, so used grated Colby Jack, and that tasted good and counteracted some of the heat from the small hot peppers I used. I made a very large batch thinking I'd add beans for a hearty lunch the next day, but my husband ate 3 servings so I didn't have a lot left...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Christian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States