Calabacitas con Elote (Zucchini with Corn) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
i make this all the time, but when i use a can of whole corn and after veggies are done i sprinkle with monterey jack cheese, put a lid on and turm heat off and let it melt for about 5 minutesl .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Excellent! I even used frozen corn and it was great! I'm glad to have a new side dish to serve with Mexican food besides variations on rice and beans. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
My husband said it was the best calabacitas I had ever made. I used fresh corn and roasted the chiles. I cut the zuccini on my mandolin for uniform slices. Will keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This was a nice addition to steak and potatoes! I have had calabacitas before in a small Mexican restaurant that was delicious and this was a nice recreation! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was fantastic! Even my picky toddlers ate this, which is really saying something. I left out the onion and used frozen corn kernels. I forgot the cojita cheese the first time and it was still extremely tasty. With the leftovers I used the cojita and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
we really enjoyed this dish.. didn't have the poblano.. probably used more cheese than called for.. and i couldn't imagine going without it.. i think cotija is closer in taste to parm than feta.. feta comes off too sour.. cotija is just a salty cheese.. anyway, ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I used this recipe for guidance, but didn't measure things. It was a great way to use up a plethora of zukes and summer squash! (I used some of each.) I didn't have cojita, so used grated Colby Jack, and that tasted good and counteracted some of the heat from the small hot peppers I used. I made a very large batch thinking I'd add beans for a hearty lunch the next day, but my husband ate 3 servings so I didn't have a lot left...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Christian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Thank you for posting...This is very authentic.. very good. if you use other things like adding sugar, creme, beans..etc... it wont be a Mexican dish..This is a side dish that you can salsa while eating in a warm flour tortilla... with any kind of mean on the side..pollo or carne asada..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
As another reviewer said: this is a "good solid dish". However, the reason why it is four stars and not five is that it could use a little jazz. The flavors of the vegetables together worked nicely, but overall it seemed a bit bland. I will definitely make this dish again but I will probably pair it with a spicier dish such as the "Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken" recipe, which is also listed on this site. That way the "blandness" of this dish will even out with all the spices of that one. ALSO, I didn't use the cheese because we didn't have any. Maybe that made a difference but I don't know; I am not a huge fan of cheese in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
very nice blend of the veggies!!! Im not big on zuccini but this was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani22
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States