'Calabacitas Guisada' (Stewed Mexican Zucchini) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Loved this recipe and it's ease of preparation! There is nothing I would change to the recipe. All the flavors meld perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Four zucchinis is a LOT - it crowded my skillet, and there wasn't enough liquid to coat them. So, some of them came out tasting very dry and plan. Even adding too much salt didn't help to liven up the flavor. I also used sharp cheddar instead of mild - still, nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was super simple and a great way to use of garden zucchini. I used diced tomatoes, as I had no stewed. Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHCANADA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I, like many others used olive oil, and this recipe was delicious. I grow Zucchini in my garden so I always look for new recipes with new ways to eat them. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Seems easy to add or subtract any of the ingredients. The zucchini doesn't take that long to cook. I used Rotel because I didn't have stewed tomatoes. I always used parmesan with steamed zucchini, but I really liked the shredded cheddar in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Was looking for quick side dish to use up zucchini. Made recipe exactly as written. My husband & I really liked it and definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This dish is way to easy for how good it is. I did use a fresh tomato and I use a smoked pepper jack cheese. My husband said I knocked it out of the ballpark. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
OUTSTANDING! And just in time for zucchini season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patriciafulda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
OK, I made alterations to this but it doesn't diminish the deliciousness and easiness of the base recipe. I added a little shredded chicken, a little chicken stock, corn, instant rice, and stewed tomatoes (2 cans) that were spiced up with mild green chilis -- these are common in the supermarket. As a main dish, a party dish, a side dish, whatever, it was so good. Thanks for giving me the base recipe to work with -- awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Love this recipe with chopped celery added to the onions and olive oil and parmesan instead of cheddar -- a few less calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States