'Calabacitas Guisada' (Stewed Mexican Zucchini) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
An excellent side dish! I substituted a half jar of marinara for the stewed tomatoes just to use it up and to give it an Italian spin for our French bread pizzas. I omitted the cheddar cheese - it was delicious without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I really liked this recipe - I made a few modifications though. I used fire roasted, diced adobe flavored tomatoes - so it added some nice kick and flavor and had to cooke the zucchini about twice as long as advertised. Came out wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Myranda
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I really enjoyed this dish! I served it with an enchilada casserole and it was the perfect side! I doubled the recipe for my large family and everyone loved it! We added it to my keep recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Loved this recipe and it's ease of preparation! There is nothing I would change to the recipe. All the flavors meld perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Four zucchinis is a LOT - it crowded my skillet, and there wasn't enough liquid to coat them. So, some of them came out tasting very dry and plan. Even adding too much salt didn't help to liven up the flavor. I also used sharp cheddar instead of mild - still, nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This was super simple and a great way to use of garden zucchini. I used diced tomatoes, as I had no stewed. Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Kurtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I, like many others used olive oil, and this recipe was delicious. I grow Zucchini in my garden so I always look for new recipes with new ways to eat them. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlien Bispo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Seems easy to add or subtract any of the ingredients. The zucchini doesn't take that long to cook. I used Rotel because I didn't have stewed tomatoes. I always used parmesan with steamed zucchini, but I really liked the shredded cheddar in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Was looking for quick side dish to use up zucchini. Made recipe exactly as written. My husband & I really liked it and definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This dish is way to easy for how good it is. I did use a fresh tomato and I use a smoked pepper jack cheese. My husband said I knocked it out of the ballpark. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States