Calabacitas Con Queso - Zucchini with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This was VERY good! My friend from Mexico made this for me before using chayote, but plain zucchini worked for me tonight. I was able to pick all the veggie ingredients right out of my garden. I did add several cloves of roasted garlic, which was very yummy. I also added a little chile powder in the end. My husband is very picky and he LOVED it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Hensley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
WOW!! Fabulous dish. I followed the recipe except I drained the corn per other posts. I used Mexican blend cheese (shredded) and cut down to 16 ounces. This will be a regular at our house. Served with the Adobo Sirloin recipe posted here also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Very good. I use fresh corn and butter instead of the vegetable oil. Also, I omit the sugar and use about 1/2 pound of sliced cheddar cheese. I use 1 diced jalapeno chile instead of the bell pepper to give it more of a kick. Make sure you let the cheese completely melt before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This was so good, everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. After I cooked it on the stove I covered it in more cheese and baked it like a casserole so it would be hot with the meal. Defenitely will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgely, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was fantastic! I didn't have everything on hand, so I had to substitute and used frozen corn for the canned, drained canned diced tomatoes for the fresh, and about 1/2 pound of shreeded Montery jack, and 1/4 pound shredded Mexican mixture (cheddar/M. jack/queso/asedero). I also added a dash of Adobo seasoning and some roasted garlic. Due to my entree taking longer than I thought, I cooked the vegetables as directed, then mixed in the cheese and finished it like a casserole in the oven. This dish will be put into regular rotation. It may be fattening with all that cheese, but the taste is well worth it! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Awesome recipe, easy to make and healthy! Very low carb friendly if you use sweetner instead of sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This was so easy and tasty. I made a couple of modifications; I drained the liquid once the veggies were done leaving just a little and stirred in 4 cups of shredded Montery Jack cheese. The cheese melted easily and I did not put it back on the stove. I will definitely keep this one and our guest wouldn't leave without the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Excellent...I've been looking for something to serve alongside Mexican food in addition to Spanish rice. It was a big hit, and a great accompaniment to enchiladas. This recipe makes a LOT...a single recipe was more than enough for twelve people as a side. Next time I think I will also try using grated cheese instead of cubed...it got kind of glumpy, even though I used about a third less than was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I have made this dish several times and its one of my favorites! I use shredded cheddar and white cheddar on top after its done cooking. It melts and its delicious! It goes well especially with homemade fresh tortillas! I learned this dish from my mom and this tastes exactly like it. I definitly recommend it. I don't add sugar to mine though and if you are into spicy adding one jalapeno in there with the bell pepper is good. :-) and for those who haven't had this before, its suppose to be slightly runny but eating with tortillas helps alot and add cheese a bit at a time or right on your plate to avoid it being way too cheesy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alienmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I love this stuff! However, I'm a meat-eater, so I used about 1 lb of zucchini with 1 lb of ground beef. I also just eyeball the cheese until it looks good. I like to serve it with corn cakes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States