Calabacitas Con Queso - Zucchini with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This sounds good but I use a a similar recipe from Rachael Ray that is Calabacitas Caserole with Polenta and Cheese. It has a lot more seasoning in it,less cheese and sliced polenta is layered on top before the cheese. Really good and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I've got to admit, I wasn't too sure about adding the sugar to this side dish with the veggies and cheese. But I did as the recipe said and LOVED the taste! The taste blended in well. My husband couldn't get enough of it and he usually prefers no veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari-Mar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Delicious but a little runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison, Maine, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
At first, I was going to rate this recipe 3 stars. I had to add A LOT of spices before it tasted less bland and I was even tempted to add bacon! Which means something because I'm not one of those "let's add bacon to everthing" cook... Then I checked the amount of cheese and noticed I had used only a third of the recommended amount! I guess with 1.5 lb of cheese it won't be bland anymore. However, we really enjoyed the dish and I'm probably making it again soon. With less cheese and more spices, it's healthier and you can afford it several times a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This was so easy and tasty. I made a couple of modifications; I drained the liquid once the veggies were done leaving just a little and stirred in 4 cups of shredded Montery Jack cheese. The cheese melted easily and I did not put it back on the stove. I will definitely keep this one and our guest wouldn't leave without the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Very good. I use fresh corn and butter instead of the vegetable oil. Also, I omit the sugar and use about 1/2 pound of sliced cheddar cheese. I use 1 diced jalapeno chile instead of the bell pepper to give it more of a kick. Make sure you let the cheese completely melt before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Awesome recipe, easy to make and healthy! Very low carb friendly if you use sweetner instead of sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was fantastic! I didn't have everything on hand, so I had to substitute and used frozen corn for the canned, drained canned diced tomatoes for the fresh, and about 1/2 pound of shreeded Montery jack, and 1/4 pound shredded Mexican mixture (cheddar/M. jack/queso/asedero). I also added a dash of Adobo seasoning and some roasted garlic. Due to my entree taking longer than I thought, I cooked the vegetables as directed, then mixed in the cheese and finished it like a casserole in the oven. This dish will be put into regular rotation. It may be fattening with all that cheese, but the taste is well worth it! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This was so good, everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. After I cooked it on the stove I covered it in more cheese and baked it like a casserole so it would be hot with the meal. Defenitely will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgely, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
WHOA! That is a TON of cheese. We cooked everything in a huge skillet for about 15 minutes with the lid on. Then shut off the heat and let rest about 30 minutes. As we transfered the zucchini to the serving dish, we slowly sprinkled in the cheese in layers and stirred as we went. Out of a 1 pound bag, we used MAYBE 1/3rd of it. It was cheese enough to hold the various veggies together without being overwhelming and making a huge mess. (Also cut a ton of calories out of it) Definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States