Calabacitas Con Queso - Zucchini with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I made this for my boyfriend, and he loved it! It's quick and easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corazon79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I did make some additions to this, so I suppose I can't really rate it fairly - but it turned out awesome, so I'll share what I did. I sauteed the onion first and when it was translucent I removed it from the pan and set aside. I then sauteed all of the other veggies (doubling the tomato) until they were a little more than crisp tender. I then added some cooked chicken breast (about a pound) and the cooked onion in with the veggies and cooked a couple of minutes until heated through. I then added about a cup of shredded queso cheese, stirred and then put a second cup over the top, covered and let the cheese melt. I served with flour tortillas and Mexican rice. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Pablano instead of bell pepper. Olive Oil instead of vegetable. Eighty-Six the sugar and use cheese to suit your taste. IMHO non-fat cheese doesn't melt or blend at all and low fat cheese just doesn't give the same mouth feel. It's worth the extra fat and calories (to me) to use real MJ cheese or pepper jack. If you're not vegan or opting for a vegetarian meal, throw some leftover pork or chicken or even beef in it, to round it out to a full meal with tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karyn8sons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I really liked it but I changed it a bit. I used about 1/2 c. cheddar because that is what I had on hand. I also added 1/2 tsp of cumin and a handful of cilantro. Also I used a bananna pepper instead of bell. Next time I will take out the oil and use less sugar and cook in my non stick skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This was really good!! I normally like a lot of seasonings, but this was perfect as is. The combination of vegetables works well. I skipped the cheese, and served it as a side dish to enchiladas and mexican rice. My husband, who doesn't like zucchini, thought it was really good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I love this stuff! However, I'm a meat-eater, so I used about 1 lb of zucchini with 1 lb of ground beef. I also just eyeball the cheese until it looks good. I like to serve it with corn cakes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
WOW!! Fabulous dish. I followed the recipe except I drained the corn per other posts. I used Mexican blend cheese (shredded) and cut down to 16 ounces. This will be a regular at our house. Served with the Adobo Sirloin recipe posted here also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I have made this dish several times and its one of my favorites! I use shredded cheddar and white cheddar on top after its done cooking. It melts and its delicious! It goes well especially with homemade fresh tortillas! I learned this dish from my mom and this tastes exactly like it. I definitly recommend it. I don't add sugar to mine though and if you are into spicy adding one jalapeno in there with the bell pepper is good. :-) and for those who haven't had this before, its suppose to be slightly runny but eating with tortillas helps alot and add cheese a bit at a time or right on your plate to avoid it being way too cheesy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alienmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Excellent...I've been looking for something to serve alongside Mexican food in addition to Spanish rice. It was a big hit, and a great accompaniment to enchiladas. This recipe makes a LOT...a single recipe was more than enough for twelve people as a side. Next time I think I will also try using grated cheese instead of cubed...it got kind of glumpy, even though I used about a third less than was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I thought this was just okay. Too much cheese, and runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States