Calabacitas Con Queso - Zucchini with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was just okay, definately needs some spices. I added garlic, a chipolte chile in adobo, and green onions and it still seemed a bit bland. Left out the sugar, didn't add as much cheese. May be okay with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This is a good way to get your kids to eat veggies. We spiced it up a little with Pepper Jack Cheese, using half the amount of cheese called for, but it was still plenty. We'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I did without the sugar, and cut the cheese to only 8 oz. This was so good that 3 of us finished the dish! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I cut the cheese in half and added basic spices, salt & garlic. It was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rm2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
We really liked this dish and I will definitely make it again and recommend it to others. However, I did make some changes -- some on purpose, some not. :D ~I used olive oil ~Used 2 cans diced green chiles as I had not bell pepper ~used 1 can of Mexi-corn, as that is what I had on hand ~forgot to add the sugar ~added a little garlic as well as salt and pepper ~left the cheese out -- on purpose, as we were having this with enchilada casserole and it was already LOADED with cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I like this recipe but also changed it some.I used olive oil and canned fire roasted tomatoes instead of fresh. It added a nice smokey flavor. I served it over brown rice. I also used a lot less cheese and omitted the sugar. It was a nice hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaby Atilano Mattan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
used a blend of monterey and cheddar cheeses equal to 1 pound total. followed the rest to a t and worked well! this goes really well as a dip for tortillas when combined with http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Tasty-Lentil-Tacos/Detail.aspx?prop31=1 mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shermil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was pretty good as a side dish. Like the reviews say, you don't need all that cheese. I ended up turning it into a casserole. I prepared the veggies as stated, but added taco seasoning instead of other spices. And rather than just straight cheese, I made a cheese sauce w/ Wonda Flour and threw some breadcrumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
My husband and I really liked this recipe but my kids didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I could not believe this didn't call for any spices -- and it didn't need any! This was a hit, and very healthy at the Mexican-themed dinner I went to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicianr67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States