Calabacitas Con Queso - Zucchini with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
We really liked this dish and I will definitely make it again and recommend it to others. However, I did make some changes -- some on purpose, some not. :D ~I used olive oil ~Used 2 cans diced green chiles as I had not bell pepper ~used 1 can of Mexi-corn, as that is what I had on hand ~forgot to add the sugar ~added a little garlic as well as salt and pepper ~left the cheese out -- on purpose, as we were having this with enchilada casserole and it was already LOADED with cheese. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I like this recipe but also changed it some.I used olive oil and canned fire roasted tomatoes instead of fresh. It added a nice smokey flavor. I served it over brown rice. I also used a lot less cheese and omitted the sugar. It was a nice hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
used a blend of monterey and cheddar cheeses equal to 1 pound total. followed the rest to a t and worked well! this goes really well as a dip for tortillas when combined with http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Tasty-Lentil-Tacos/Detail.aspx?prop31=1 mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shermil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was pretty good as a side dish. Like the reviews say, you don't need all that cheese. I ended up turning it into a casserole. I prepared the veggies as stated, but added taco seasoning instead of other spices. And rather than just straight cheese, I made a cheese sauce w/ Wonda Flour and threw some breadcrumbs on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
My husband and I really liked this recipe but my kids didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I could not believe this didn't call for any spices -- and it didn't need any! This was a hit, and very healthy at the Mexican-themed dinner I went to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicianr67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I made this for my boyfriend, and he loved it! It's quick and easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corazon79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I did make some additions to this, so I suppose I can't really rate it fairly - but it turned out awesome, so I'll share what I did. I sauteed the onion first and when it was translucent I removed it from the pan and set aside. I then sauteed all of the other veggies (doubling the tomato) until they were a little more than crisp tender. I then added some cooked chicken breast (about a pound) and the cooked onion in with the veggies and cooked a couple of minutes until heated through. I then added about a cup of shredded queso cheese, stirred and then put a second cup over the top, covered and let the cheese melt. I served with flour tortillas and Mexican rice. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Pablano instead of bell pepper. Olive Oil instead of vegetable. Eighty-Six the sugar and use cheese to suit your taste. IMHO non-fat cheese doesn't melt or blend at all and low fat cheese just doesn't give the same mouth feel. It's worth the extra fat and calories (to me) to use real MJ cheese or pepper jack. If you're not vegan or opting for a vegetarian meal, throw some leftover pork or chicken or even beef in it, to round it out to a full meal with tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karyn8sons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I really liked it but I changed it a bit. I used about 1/2 c. cheddar because that is what I had on hand. I also added 1/2 tsp of cumin and a handful of cilantro. Also I used a bananna pepper instead of bell. Next time I will take out the oil and use less sugar and cook in my non stick skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States