Calabacitas Con Queso - Zucchini with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I did make some additions to this, so I suppose I can't really rate it fairly - but it turned out awesome, so I'll share what I did. I sauteed the onion first and when it was translucent I removed it from the pan and set aside. I then sauteed all of the other veggies (doubling the tomato) until they were a little more than crisp tender. I then added some cooked chicken breast (about a pound) and the cooked onion in with the veggies and cooked a couple of minutes until heated through. I then added about a cup of shredded queso cheese, stirred and then put a second cup over the top, covered and let the cheese melt. I served with flour tortillas and Mexican rice. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
WHOA! That is a TON of cheese. We cooked everything in a huge skillet for about 15 minutes with the lid on. Then shut off the heat and let rest about 30 minutes. As we transfered the zucchini to the serving dish, we slowly sprinkled in the cheese in layers and stirred as we went. Out of a 1 pound bag, we used MAYBE 1/3rd of it. It was cheese enough to hold the various veggies together without being overwhelming and making a huge mess. (Also cut a ton of calories out of it) Definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
At first, I was going to rate this recipe 3 stars. I had to add A LOT of spices before it tasted less bland and I was even tempted to add bacon! Which means something because I'm not one of those "let's add bacon to everthing" cook... Then I checked the amount of cheese and noticed I had used only a third of the recommended amount! I guess with 1.5 lb of cheese it won't be bland anymore. However, we really enjoyed the dish and I'm probably making it again soon. With less cheese and more spices, it's healthier and you can afford it several times a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Pablano instead of bell pepper. Olive Oil instead of vegetable. Eighty-Six the sugar and use cheese to suit your taste. IMHO non-fat cheese doesn't melt or blend at all and low fat cheese just doesn't give the same mouth feel. It's worth the extra fat and calories (to me) to use real MJ cheese or pepper jack. If you're not vegan or opting for a vegetarian meal, throw some leftover pork or chicken or even beef in it, to round it out to a full meal with tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karyn8sons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This was really good!! I normally like a lot of seasonings, but this was perfect as is. The combination of vegetables works well. I skipped the cheese, and served it as a side dish to enchiladas and mexican rice. My husband, who doesn't like zucchini, thought it was really good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Very good. I use fresh corn and butter instead of the vegetable oil. Also, I omit the sugar and use about 1/2 pound of sliced cheddar cheese. I use 1 diced jalapeno chile instead of the bell pepper to give it more of a kick. Make sure you let the cheese completely melt before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
My mom makes her calabasa similar to this she add mozzerella or munster cheese.Instead of bell peppers she chops 1/2 of a jalapeno and adds a 1/2 cup of cream cheese.This one was still good but i love moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maridela

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was just okay, definately needs some spices. I added garlic, a chipolte chile in adobo, and green onions and it still seemed a bit bland. Left out the sugar, didn't add as much cheese. May be okay with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I thought this was delicious! turned out a bit runny but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyN82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This is a good way to get your kids to eat veggies. We spiced it up a little with Pepper Jack Cheese, using half the amount of cheese called for, but it was still plenty. We'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States