Calabacitas Con Queso - Zucchini with Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I LOVE this, but I do add a twist, I use Velveeta Mexican cheese and add chicken and sometimes yellow squash, depends on how much veggies I get from the garden. I make it a meal instead of a side dish. My family loves it, best way to get the kids to eat zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Easy and very good! This recipe was easier than the other calabacitas recipes and it was very good. I reduced the cheese to 1 pound but that was still a lot of cheese. I left out the sugar completely. It didn't need it. I also used canned green chilis instead of the green pepper and fresh corn instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Husband didn't like it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
So glad to see this recipe. It's straight out of my mother's kitchen. Only difference is she used bacon drippings to brown onions, no chiles, canned corn, and grated cheddar cheese while it was still in the pot (cheese melts and makes a bit of broth). I like to make it like a soupy veggie intentionally. Provecho -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
The recipe is a great start for calabacitas. I sauteed the onions & bell pepper for a bit then added the rest of the veggies. Next time I will make it without the bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I didn't like this very much when made as the recipe states. I added some spices, salt, garlic powder and season salt, also used jalapenos instead of the green pepper. I agree that the amount of cheese called for is excessive and only used about a cup and a half worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Really Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Yummy, felt like it might be missing something. Might try adding garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprilg81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
My mom makes her calabasa similar to this she add mozzerella or munster cheese.Instead of bell peppers she chops 1/2 of a jalapeno and adds a 1/2 cup of cream cheese.This one was still good but i love moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maridela

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I thought this was delicious! turned out a bit runny but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyN82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States