Calabacitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Fantastic! Love, LOVE it!! I didn't add the half & half either-I can't imagine what it adds to this dish. Maybe I'll experiment next time but we absolutely loved it without this time around! It does make a lot-we'll be eating it for a few days! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This recipe turned out so good! You will need to be careful not to overcook the zucchini. First I sautéed the onions, garlic and green pepper with olive oil (I didn't use any butter), then I added the zucchini and cooked probably for 2 minutes, added corn, salt and pepper and cooked for an additional 2 minutes. I didn't add any half and half because I don't think it would go in this dish at all. Once cooked, I transferred to a plate and sprinkled cheese on. Thanks A.P. Newman this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
For a dish with a lot of vegetables this was decadent! Loved it. Added in a lonely red potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was a great side dish. It makes A LOT though since I am the only one that will eat these veggies. I did not add the half and half because I never have it on hand, and I don't think it was missed. I will use less oil and buter next time. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Colorful, fresh and delicious! I used 2 zucchini and 2 yellow crookneck squash, a whole can of corn and shredded colby/jack cheese. Made a nice batch with leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Use the freshest vegetables you can for this recipe, as those are the flavours that really come through. This was a nice, cooling, satisfying side dish for a fajita meal. I will definitely make it again with garden fresh zucchini and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I used sour cream instead of the half and half and doubled the corn. It was fantastic and my kids inhaled it! For the adults, I topped it with chopped cilantro. I would absolutely make this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
i really enjoyed this recipe. it was simple and colorful and had a very fresh flavor. i served it for the first time at christmas dinner and it was the only thing that didnt have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANKIN0255

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Great recipe! I did leave out the bell pepper and added yellow squash instead. I also added a diced jalapeño and a touch of cumin. We didn't have any left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Great way to use zucchini. I didn't add the half and half. I have added a minced jalapeno or two, and once I roasted a bunch of jalapenos, diced them up, and added them. When mixed with the other veggies, it isn't too hot at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Easy Roasted Peppers

Discover a simple way to roast and peel peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States