Calabacitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
In lieu of bell pepper, I use fresh chopped green chili (grown right here in NM), or a can of rotel chili will work just the same. I also use a can of white snopeg corn and add a can of chopped tomatoes. Never heard of using half and half or butter. I steam the zucchini and then add the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Colorful, fresh and delicious! I used 2 zucchini and 2 yellow crookneck squash, a whole can of corn and shredded colby/jack cheese. Made a nice batch with leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This was such an interesting recipe that I prepared it exactly as written - and wasn't strongly moved one way or the other. I don't often assign the overused word "bland" to a dish but in this case it is appropriate. While this dish doesn't offend the taste buds, it certainly doesn't excite them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This recipe turned out so good! You will need to be careful not to overcook the zucchini. First I sautéed the onions, garlic and green pepper with olive oil (I didn't use any butter), then I added the zucchini and cooked probably for 2 minutes, added corn, salt and pepper and cooked for an additional 2 minutes. I didn't add any half and half because I don't think it would go in this dish at all. Once cooked, I transferred to a plate and sprinkled cheese on. Thanks A.P. Newman this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I make this all the time but I've never heard of calabacitas with half and half or any kind of milk. I add chicken (brown it in the same pan before adding all the veggies) and red pepper flakes for a slightly spicy complete meal and serve it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Very quick and tasty side dish. never heard of adding half and half to calabacitas so to cut the fat i didnt add cream and it wasnt missed. Used red bell pepper instead of green, and used a cheddar/monterey jack blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Maybe it's a southwest thing? I don't understand all the comments about "never heard of adding 1/2 & 1/2 or any kind of milk to calabacitas." It is the only way I've ever had it. I like that it makes it creamy. I also mix in my cheese, rather than just letting it melt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This is really good. It was a touch bland for my taste, so since I like heat, so I added a half a seeded, finely chopped jalapeno pepper. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Great way to use zucchini. I didn't add the half and half. I have added a minced jalapeno or two, and once I roasted a bunch of jalapenos, diced them up, and added them. When mixed with the other veggies, it isn't too hot at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Fantastic! Love, LOVE it!! I didn't add the half & half either-I can't imagine what it adds to this dish. Maybe I'll experiment next time but we absolutely loved it without this time around! It does make a lot-we'll be eating it for a few days! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Easy Roasted Peppers

Discover a simple way to roast and peel peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States