Calabacitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Colorful, fresh and delicious! I used 2 zucchini and 2 yellow crookneck squash, a whole can of corn and shredded colby/jack cheese. Made a nice batch with leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Use the freshest vegetables you can for this recipe, as those are the flavours that really come through. This was a nice, cooling, satisfying side dish for a fajita meal. I will definitely make it again with garden fresh zucchini and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I used sour cream instead of the half and half and doubled the corn. It was fantastic and my kids inhaled it! For the adults, I topped it with chopped cilantro. I would absolutely make this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I liked it. The man-child did not. I won't make it again because I have enough trouble getting him to eat his veggies without turning him off with spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This is really good. It was a touch bland for my taste, so since I like heat, so I added a half a seeded, finely chopped jalapeno pepper. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Carter Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
i really enjoyed this recipe. it was simple and colorful and had a very fresh flavor. i served it for the first time at christmas dinner and it was the only thing that didnt have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANKIN0255

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Great recipe! I did leave out the bell pepper and added yellow squash instead. I also added a diced jalapeño and a touch of cumin. We didn't have any left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Very quick and tasty side dish. never heard of adding half and half to calabacitas so to cut the fat i didnt add cream and it wasnt missed. Used red bell pepper instead of green, and used a cheddar/monterey jack blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
In lieu of bell pepper, I use fresh chopped green chili (grown right here in NM), or a can of rotel chili will work just the same. I also use a can of white snopeg corn and add a can of chopped tomatoes. Never heard of using half and half or butter. I steam the zucchini and then add the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was a great side dish. It makes A LOT though since I am the only one that will eat these veggies. I did not add the half and half because I never have it on hand, and I don't think it was missed. I will use less oil and buter next time. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Bacon-Wrapped Corn on the Cob

Corn and bacon are grilled together in this perfect summer dish.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States