Calabacitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Colorful, fresh and delicious! I used 2 zucchini and 2 yellow crookneck squash, a whole can of corn and shredded colby/jack cheese. Made a nice batch with leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Use the freshest vegetables you can for this recipe, as those are the flavours that really come through. This was a nice, cooling, satisfying side dish for a fajita meal. I will definitely make it again with garden fresh zucchini and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I used sour cream instead of the half and half and doubled the corn. It was fantastic and my kids inhaled it! For the adults, I topped it with chopped cilantro. I would absolutely make this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I liked it. The man-child did not. I won't make it again because I have enough trouble getting him to eat his veggies without turning him off with spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This is really good. It was a touch bland for my taste, so since I like heat, so I added a half a seeded, finely chopped jalapeno pepper. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
i really enjoyed this recipe. it was simple and colorful and had a very fresh flavor. i served it for the first time at christmas dinner and it was the only thing that didnt have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANKIN0255

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Great recipe! I did leave out the bell pepper and added yellow squash instead. I also added a diced jalapeño and a touch of cumin. We didn't have any left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Very quick and tasty side dish. never heard of adding half and half to calabacitas so to cut the fat i didnt add cream and it wasnt missed. Used red bell pepper instead of green, and used a cheddar/monterey jack blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
In lieu of bell pepper, I use fresh chopped green chili (grown right here in NM), or a can of rotel chili will work just the same. I also use a can of white snopeg corn and add a can of chopped tomatoes. Never heard of using half and half or butter. I steam the zucchini and then add the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was a great side dish. It makes A LOT though since I am the only one that will eat these veggies. I did not add the half and half because I never have it on hand, and I don't think it was missed. I will use less oil and buter next time. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States