Calabacitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Use the freshest vegetables you can for this recipe, as those are the flavours that really come through. This was a nice, cooling, satisfying side dish for a fajita meal. I will definitely make it again with garden fresh zucchini and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Fantastic! Love, LOVE it!! I didn't add the half & half either-I can't imagine what it adds to this dish. Maybe I'll experiment next time but we absolutely loved it without this time around! It does make a lot-we'll be eating it for a few days! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This recipe turned out so good! You will need to be careful not to overcook the zucchini. First I sautéed the onions, garlic and green pepper with olive oil (I didn't use any butter), then I added the zucchini and cooked probably for 2 minutes, added corn, salt and pepper and cooked for an additional 2 minutes. I didn't add any half and half because I don't think it would go in this dish at all. Once cooked, I transferred to a plate and sprinkled cheese on. Thanks A.P. Newman this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Great way to use zucchini. I didn't add the half and half. I have added a minced jalapeno or two, and once I roasted a bunch of jalapenos, diced them up, and added them. When mixed with the other veggies, it isn't too hot at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was a great side dish. It makes A LOT though since I am the only one that will eat these veggies. I did not add the half and half because I never have it on hand, and I don't think it was missed. I will use less oil and buter next time. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Colorful, fresh and delicious! I used 2 zucchini and 2 yellow crookneck squash, a whole can of corn and shredded colby/jack cheese. Made a nice batch with leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I used sour cream instead of the half and half and doubled the corn. It was fantastic and my kids inhaled it! For the adults, I topped it with chopped cilantro. I would absolutely make this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
i really enjoyed this recipe. it was simple and colorful and had a very fresh flavor. i served it for the first time at christmas dinner and it was the only thing that didnt have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANKIN0255

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Great recipe! I did leave out the bell pepper and added yellow squash instead. I also added a diced jalapeño and a touch of cumin. We didn't have any left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
For a dish with a lot of vegetables this was decadent! Loved it. Added in a lonely red potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Bacon-Wrapped Corn on the Cob

Corn and bacon are grilled together in this perfect summer dish.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States